My New Toy

09/30/2003 - 3:10 PM

I reread yesterday's entry about Steve today, and I think I was a little too hard on him. As confessed in this journal on a couple of occasions, I have a tendency of burying issues that I need to deal with, and that's one of the reasons that I started keeping the journal. Obviously, he's at least making the effort, so there should be something said for that. Being a hypocrite is something that I would never intentionally do, so there's the clarification.

Not much going on today, but this morning was like Christmas as MY NEW PDA SHOWED UP! I got the same model that Matt got, since I've already seen it in action. I doubt that I will use mine the same way he uses his, though. He not only saves mp3's on it, but also mpeg's, including Spongebob episodes. It even has a name...Pocky (for pocket PC), and how can I ever compete with that?

So since I date the PDA master, he's going to stay at my house tonight and hook me up with tha hotness. I'll be the Pimp PDA Daddy by the time I'm done with this!

Okay...not much else to write, but I might as well give my reviews of the new CDs that I've picked up in the last week or so:

Luther Vandross/Dance With My Mother - I resisted buying this one for a while, but I heard it on a plane a few weeks ago, and it stuck with me. R&B tends to be too over-produced these days, and Luther has his moments, but the simplicity of his and Beyonce's remake of "The Closer I Get To You" is what R&B really should be about. B+

Dave Matthews/Some Devil - I love his voice, I love his musicality, but his songs have a bad habit of morphing into one long song. "Gravedigger" is stuck in my head for eternity, but some of the other stuff on here just doesn't stand out. B-

Outkast/Speakerboxxx & The Love Below - Believe the hype! This is the CD of the year, if not simply for disc one with Andre 3000. Part Prince, part Coltrane, all funky all the time...this IS the hotness, folks. Big Boi's disc is more traditional hip-hop, but it's still miles ahead of most of the sludge on the radio these days. Support them Atlanter boys, ya herrrrrre? A+

Junior Senior/D-d-don't Stop The Beat! - I LOVE "Move Your Feet", but the rest of the CD just slipped away, and I couldn't get into it. Funky...yes. Coherent...um, yeah. Sure. Whatever you say. C

Erykah Badu/Worldwide Underground - Ms. Badu comes back with a funky funky disc. This is an EP? You're kidding...I'd pay full price for this! If ya love you some Badu, pick this up. B

Tonight I'll pick up the Dido, and that will be it for this week. I need to ease up on the CDs, but there's so much good stuff coming out lately. Eh...it's only money, right?

What I'm Listening To: Outkast - Roses

First Word That Comes To Mind: pda

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland