New Discoveries

07/02/2003 - 11:15 AM

I think I've hit on a nerve...the journal entry about Toughskins and Wranglers continues to get hits, and I can't help but wonder how many guys out there were completely scarred by the unhip clothing that they were forced to endure as kids. I feel a support group coming on to address that need.

I'm feeling a bit better than I did yesterday...the co-worker deal seems to have blown over a bit, and I actually talked to Matt last night about the inferiority feeling, and he was pretty cool about it. He told me that he never means to come across that way, but when he gets on a subject that he knows really well (such as the Supreme Court, which was one of our discussions yesterday), he just runs with it. I can completely understand that. On top of that, he really enjoys the engaging conversation when someone else is interested and adding to the debate (which I was doing), so it seems to be all good.

Went to go see Tracy Chapman last night, and the show was AMAZING! If you haven't kept up with her in recent years, her material is just as amazing as it was on the first CD. At one point of the show, I felt like I was at a Gospel revival...the energy was THAT high! She ran through songs from the last 15 years, and even sprinkled in a few covers at the end ("Get Up Stand Up" was just unbelievable). But the biggest surprise of the night was the opening act. I've never heard of eastmountainsouth before last night, but I'm a HUGE fan now. They're a male/female duo, but vocally they really remind me of the Indigo Girls. However, they're not as rock-ish as the Girls can get. How's this for an endorsement...Robbie Robertson (of the Band and his own solo career) is their executive producer, and Mitchell Froom produced the record. It's so contemporary, and yet you could imagine being in the Smokies or the Appalachians, and hear this music at some bluegrass festival. Haunting, funky, mellow, thoughtful, deep, traditional, innovative...can you tell I'm hooked? Please check them out...any band that can cover a Steven Foster song written over 100 years ago and make it sound contemporary while honoring the original sound/roots has something really special going on.

Okay...enough of my commercial plugs for now. I'm sure I'll have more to push upon the masses later.

What I'm Listening To: Hard Times - eastmountainsouth

First Word That Comes To Mind: harmony

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland