I Got My Pride

06/22/2003 - 10:37 PM

Busy weekend...and the work week gets a late start tomorrow, to boot. For once, I get to recover.

Took a nap after yesterday's entry, because I knew I'd be up later than usual last night, along with an early wake-up call today. Got up just in time to take a shower and head into town to meet up with everyone for dinner. Turns out I was running a bit early (7:00 vs 7:30), so I wasn't late after all. The trip to Morton's was a trip...CW doesn't know his way around town yet, but of course he wanted to drive his new Escape, so we ended up circling about four times before we finally got the car parked and everyone unloaded. It was myself, Matt, CW, MU and MU's friend Chuck from out of town. The dinner was a rollercoaster of laughs and tension, as only we gay men can do it.

I'm only remembering certain details of the meal, but I know that everyone felt insulted in one form or another before we left, and that was unfortunate. Personally, the topic of CW and I going to KM came up (damn, I wish CM could cure himself of this diarrhea of the mouth he has), and that led Matt to go off on the whole concept. Why would CM tell everyone what specifically goes on? I felt violated, and it wasn't even about me, so I suppose that's me being overly sensitive. However, when I tried to explain about KM's "energy working", Matt wasn't hearing it, and I was a bit offended by that. It's one thing to have an opinion, but it's another to completely disregard someone else's. I shut up for a while after that, but it all came back around. The meal ended pretty well, and that's what matters.

Next stop...we went back to CW's so he could walk the dog, and the fatigue of some people in the group (myself at least partially included) came to the surface. As much as I could have just gone straight to bed at that point, it was Chuck's last night in town, and I got myself in gear, and we all walked down to 17th and hit a couple of bars with him. I actually caught a second wind at that point, and was really having a good time. Stayed out for a couple of hours, and then went back to Matt's, where we sat up for a while with Chuck until Matt's roommate came back to keep the party going. Almost immediately, Matt and I slipped into his room, and what I thought would be an immediate coma turned into about a half-hour of extended affection, which I had NO problem with.

Four hours later, when the alarm went off, I felt like I'd barely been asleep. We dragged ourselves out of bed, headed over to Safeway to pick up a few things, and then got back to Matt's to have a pre-Pride parade brunch for a few of Matt's and JJ's friends. Usually I don't remember the names of folks until the second time I see them, and this definitely proved that. It was pretty fun, though...even though I had to excuse myself for part of it because former Gov. Dean was on Meet the Press. (I was truly impressed...personally, I'm even more excited about his chances)

We headed out to the parade at 10, which ended up being a half-hour late, but we didn't miss too much from where we were standing. I'm always conflicted about these events, but there is a sense of solidarity there that I just can't deny. I'm not much for the occasional public display of affection, but Matt's not shy, and why should I care at a Gay Pride event? Some hand-holding, some arm around the shoulder, and an occasional peck on the cheek, and I was glad to be there with him.

On the way back to his apartment, we talked about the conversation from yesterday, and agreed that online was not the place to have a conversation like we did, and it was agreed that much of the disagreement was because of that communication break. However, the issue of morning person vs night person is still lingering, and it was agreed that stuff like eating and sleeping aren't necessarily things that can be negotiated or altered. Small consolation, but I'm not running yet. However, my eyes are open, and there will need to be some resolution to this later on down the road.

Wrapped up the evening watching the season premiere of Sex in the City (a show I've never quite been able to get into) with the whole gang, and then I headed home. An hour spent cleaning up the soda that Ashton knocked over on the carpet, and the day is pretty much over. I don't have to be at work until 1 or so, which means I won't sleep any later than I normally do. I may just lock Ash out of the bedroom so I can get an extra hour of sleep. He'll survive, although I'll probably wake to the sound of him meowing outside my door. Ah, parenting...

What I'm Listening To: Depeche Mode - Policy of Truth

First Word That Comes To Mind: Lightning

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland