In the Middle of the Night

05/13/2003 - 1:15 AM

Suffering from a weird case of insomnia tonight, so I suppose I should make the best of it.

Dinner with DP tonight was excellent...really enjoyed the meal, and the hike afterward fit perfectly. We definitely share a connection with the outdoors, and it allows for much more creative distractions, if nothing else. I had no idea that pelicans inhabited the lakes of Colorado, but we saw one tonight. He drilled me for information on Matt, and I was more than willing to give up the goods. And to show just how much of a friend he is, as well as how well he knows me, he got me a pass for Colorado State Parks as a birthday gift. How cool is that? Although it wasn't meant as a tit-for-tat gesture, I gave him the link to this diary after I got home. I trust him...something I haven't been able to do with too many of my friends lately.

I know...big bombshell to drop. It seems like the folks in my life, well-meaning as they are, have betrayed trust I've placed in them, whether it was intentional or not. I find myself guarding itimate details, and then debating if I care to share them or not. Matt has truly become my confidant, partially because he hasn't given me a reason to stop, but mainly because I just have a gut feeling that he wouldn't do anything to hurt me. Maybe I'm naive in placing this trust so early on, but I don't think I have anything to worry about.

BT and I have been e-mailing back and forth the past couple of days, and it hasn't been pleasant. Once again, we get into the "you started this" argument about communication, and it's getting old and tired. He ended his last e-mail with "leave me alone", and I will honor that. He really is a good guy underneath all the defense mechanisms, but this is my third go-around with salvaging a friendship in just over a year, and it's become more work than it's worth. That's not a pleasant thing to admit, but I suppose at some point, you just have to suck it up and accept that you can't get along with everyone. I do wish him well, though.

I'm considering taking a trip up to Estes Park on Saturday. This week will mark three years since I took my first trip out here, and I haven't been up there since my folks were here in November. It doesn't sound like Trail Ridge Road (highest continuous road in the Continental United States, for you fans of maps and trivia) will be open until Memorial Day, as the snow is still pretty deep up there. I heard a report the other day say that if it was not plowed out, it would not be passable until late June or July. Now THAT'S a lot of snow. Should be a big contrast with last summer, where almost ALL the snow was gone by the time DP and I went up in June. To give you some perspective, in a normal year, there is always a LITTLE snow left over, and that lasts until the snows start up again in September.

Alright...I'm actually feeling like I could sleep now, so I'll wrap this up. I need to dig out my journal from when I made my first trip up to Estes Park. It will have to keep until tomorrow...

What I'm Listening To: Boyz II Men - Pass You By

First Word That Comes To Mind: Sleep

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland