We All Sleep Alone

12/30/2002 - 12:15 PM

Here's something to prove that online journaling is truly an exploitative media when the writer wants it to be...I'm going to describe my sleeping habits to you. Why? Why not!

I'm definitely more of a morning person, so I'm usually in bed by 10:00. However, I don't normally get right to sleep, due to Ashton. This cat truly rules my life, so all actions must revolve around his happiness. As I crawl into bed, I can feel the thump of his Highness on the bed, signaling the beginning of the evening entertainment. This consists of multiple assaults on feet and hands underneath the covers, as well as attempts to actually get under the covers to have direct contact with the targets. Mostly, it's just aerial assaults from above the comforter, and I'm guilty of instigating it. He's such a fun cat...I wouldn't trade him for anything. Now, if I could just train him to sleep a full 8 hours like I do (see Three Steps to Insomnia), we'd get along just fine.

So what brought this on? Well, the whole idea of sleeping alone has started to creep up on me again. I think it's more prevalent in the winter, with the whole body heat thing. I'm a very warm-blooded person, so folks usually need a good amount of A/C to sleep with me in the summer months. In the winter, it all evens out. The holidays probably don't help much, either, although it hasn't been that bad this year.

The worst part to me about being single these days is the thought that I might be defective in some way that keeps me single. I was just saying to a friend today that the hardest part about it is people asking "what's a great guy like you doing single still?" Um, if I knew, don't you think I'd take care of that issue YESTERDAY? Okay, so that's a little bit of a knee-jerk reaction, but the basic thought is pretty sound. Yeah, I do get a tad sensitive about it, but I know the thought is usually sincere and well-intended. I just grin, shrug my shoulders and say something to the effect of "I haven't met him yet." Lame cop-out, but it usually deflects enough.

Okay...enough self-pity for now. Time to get back to work. Catch ya later...

What I'm Listening To:

First Word That Comes To Mind:

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland