Three Steps to Insomnia

12/11/2002 - 8:06 AM

Week is going along alright...nothing major to report from the last two days. Got some xmas shopping done last night, and then took a hot bath and went to bed at a decent hour. Exciting, huh? However, eight hours of sleep was not meant to be. Here's what I mean...

I can wake up at 3am, look at the clock, realize it's too early, and go back to sleep. The cat I fondly refer to as Prince Ashton sleeps like a rock, curled up in the curve of my legs. However, if I were to do this at 4:30am, suddenly a head pops up from the curls of the comforter, and the games begin.

Step 1 - The Love: Ashton comes up to my head (the only exposed body part) and starts rubbing his nose up on my ear. If for some reason I don't come to, he then licks my eyelid. What is up with THAT? That always works...I pull the blanket over most of my head, leaving just enough gap that I can still breathe.

Step 2 - The Sit-In: Depending on the time of step 1, there's usually a half-hour or so before step 2 commences. In laymen's terms, the cat sits on me...usually my head, but sometimes my back or shoulders. This results in me knocking him off the bed and putting pillows in between my head and the comforter to cover me more fully, still allowing for oxygen, and a buffer between myself and "His Highness".

Step 3 - Fight Club: *DINGDINGDING* The paws come out, and start pulling rapidly on the comforter, slowly but surely pulling them away from the pillows. (He's declawed in the front, so it IS a slow process) As soon as the slightest amount of flesh is exposed, the paws change focus, and begin to bat at me. Combine that with an occasional meow, as well as some tactics from steps 1&2, and I wake up screaming "Uncle!" Then it's off to the food dish.

If anyone knows any way to stop this without locking him out of my room, your advice would be completely appreciated. If I can get one scanned, I'll even post a photo of His Royal Badness on the page soon. But for the sake of my sleep and well-being...HELP!

What I'm Listening To:

First Word That Comes To Mind:

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland