You're So Vain

08/09/2006 - 2:44 PM

I got on the scale at the gym yesterday, and it said 199.3. About a year ago, I had resigned myself to never see anything less than a 2 beginning my weight, so I was pretty happy. Dre rewarded me by handing me some dumbbells so I could beat up on myself. No rest for the wickedly out of shape, I guess.

As I�ve gone through this process, I have realized that I have a pretty strong vain streak running through my personality, and it�s not all that attractive to me. It�s one thing to be conscious of what you wear so you don�t look like a slob, but it seems to be a completely different issue when you wear certain clothing at certain times to intentionally try to get people to notice your appearance (and hopefully comment on it favorably). I guess at a certain point, you�re doing this so you�ll look better, but that wasn�t my initial reason for doing this. My �apple shape� body was threatening my longevity, and I want to stick around for a while. But now I�m buying t-shirts and jeans that don�t just fit, but that actually flatter my newfound shape. Is that vain?

Today has just dragged longer than any work day I can remember for quite a while. It is 3:00, and I still have another hour to go, but I feel like I�ve worked a 10-hour day already. My troubles sleeping have been ongoing, and I�m starting to get a little concerned about it. I probably average between 6 and 7 hours a day, but I know that I�m an eight hour a day guy, so there�s a definite deficit going on at the moment. Maybe a weekend up in the mountains will clear my head and help me sleep.

Workout number two of three this week with Dre is in three hours. Are we there yet?

What I'm Listening To: The Eagles - I Can't Tell You Why

First Word That Comes To Mind: sleep

What I'm Currently Reading: Maximum Fitness magazine


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland