Christmas Leftovers

12/28/2005 - 6:10 AM

Back in Denver after a trip to NY that ended up being shorter than I thought it would be, and getting back into the groove here. My family loves Matt, which makes things so much easier for us to travel together, and he got to meet a couple of more aunts and uncles, so it was a good trip for that. However, it POURED rain on Christmas day, so it really didn't feel like the Christmases that I remember. All in all, a good trip, but WAY too much food , and even more sugar than any one person should eat in a month, let alone 3 days.

The one thing that stands out in my mind about the trip is my visit to the nursing home where my grandfather is staying. He's 89, and still with it mentally, although the body isn't doing nearly as well. Hopefully that's a good sign for where my brain will be in 50 years. We sat there for 2 hours, just talking about the nursing home, politics, weather, and old times. It's an odd situation for me that he doesn't know about Matt, or even that I'm gay, but sadly, it's for the best. He doesn't treat my uncle well because of it, and he doesn't even acknowledge my uncle's partner. It's been a group decision that we shouldn't rock the old guy's world any harder than it has to be, so I go up to see him alone, without the ring on my finger. I hate to seee him there, but it's where my grandmother died, and that's where he wants to be.

Today's going to be spent running errands, cleaning around the house, and going to the dentist. I have to work the p/t job tonight, so maybe I'll get a nap in sometime this afternoon as well. Either way, it figures that on a day I'm going to take off, I'm up way to early.

One last thing...came across this quiz, and it's definitely one of the better ones I've seen, so just in case you wanted to know what kind of sin is up my alley...

Greed:Medium
 
Gluttony:Medium
 
Wrath:Low
 
Sloth:Medium
 
Envy:Low
 
Lust:High
 
Pride:Very Low
 


The Seven Deadly Sins Quiz on 4degreez.com

What I'm Listening To: Christmas music, for some reason

First Word That Comes To Mind: running

What I'm Currently Reading: Does my Sudoku puzzle book count?


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland