Worth Going Home to

09/04/2006 - 8:25 AM

It's been very laid back here in Orange Country this weekend. The rain has finally cleared out, and I'm already getting packed to head home. Seeing the folks has been good, but there's a lot of down time, which I'm not sorry to have. They start playing dueling snores on the couch around 9, and I'm fending for myself after that.

Yesterday was just drizzly and blah, but mom and I had a good time anyway. We headed out past Rochester to look for headstones for some distant relatives that mom has been researching for her genealogy project, and we actually found everything that we were looking for, plus an added surprise. My feet were soaked by the end of the afternoon, but seeing mom get emotional when she found the woman who originally owned the ring on her finger made it all worthwhile. Mom really feels an additional connection to these folks, and I think it's because it makes her feel closer to my grandmother, who passed away in 2000. As much as I'd rather see her get out and have more friends, at least she has a hobby that keeps her occupied. It drives my stepdad nuts, but he deserves it, since he drives her nuts right back.

I don't get into Denver until almost 11:30 tonight, so it's going to be a long day. The work day tomorrow should be even longer, but I'll make it. It will be great to sleep in my own bed next to Matt. That's worth going home to all by itself.

What I'm Listening To: Montgomery Gentry - Something to Be Proud Of

First Word That Comes To Mind: ring

What I'm Currently Reading: Karin Slaughter - Triptych


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland