Without You, I'm Still Something

09/09/2005 - 8:02 AM

...or maybe you WEREN'T going to get another entry last night. I was such a vegetable last night when I got out of work (another 11 hour day, and I never left the building) that by the time I sat down at my desk, the last thing I was able to do was type. I actually killed most of the remaining time last night looking for a guy I dated back in college online, and I did find him, although no pictures to show Matt. He's working for a certain video channel in their marketing department, which makes perfect sense. Last I knew, he was working for a record company.

The story of Kevin is an interesting one. The summer between my junior and senior year of college was spent interning at a radio station back in Syracuse, as I had the previous few summers before that. The last two summers, I took over the Music Director position while the students who had it during the school year were home. That last summer, I talked to Kevin once a week or so, and we got along really well. Don't ask me how I knew he was gay, because I have no idea, but I just knew. The day he came back to school, I only had one day to hand things over before I left for school. We met up, went through a few things, ended up doing dinner, and then went back to his dorm room. Completely unexpected. Fortunately, I had a car at that point, and came home every couple of weekends to see him.

In the end, it wasn't meant to be, but it was one of the more interesting dating experiences I've had. When he broke up with me, I sobbed in his bed. He played Bonnie Raitt "I Can't Make You Love Me", which was strange, since it was the way I was feeling, not the other way around. Weird...but it evoked a reaction.

One of the things I owe Kevin is that he turned me on to Sandra Bernhard. Without You I'm Nothing is by far her best, coherent piece of work, and I can recite full monologues along with her. I would listen to that on my Walkman walking to and from campus, and I still have the CD that I pull out from time to time. I recently saw an ad for the DVD coming out, so that will be a purchase in the near future.

Not much planned for the weekend. Matt and I are reading at church, so Sunday morning is spoken for. Other than that, I might actually finish up my thank-you notes from the ceremony. And then two weeks from today is "Matt and John's Excellent Ohio Valley Adventure". I just want out of here...

What I'm Listening To: Kanye West - Gold Digger (again)

First Word That Comes To Mind: Sandra

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland