Catch a Wild O'Hare

09/16/2006 - 10:02 AM

I had a tourist moment a little while ago...walking through one of the main terminals here in Chicago, I looked up at this huge dinosaur skeleton (not sure if it was real), and I almost walked into someone because I wasn't watching what I was doing. I usually am amused by seeing people do this, but when I do it, I'm just annoyed with myself.

So the trip this weekend will take us through Indiana, Ohio, and Michigan (with flights connecting here in Chicago). Matt's going to look at two of the second-tier schools that he's considering, although the one in Michigan could become a first-tier, based on his reception. I like the mix of schools he has...some high-profile, large, prestigious schools, along with a few low-profile, private, small schools. If I had to pick, I'd probably put him at a school with a more liberal program that allows candidates to work on individualized studies, but those schools aren't always the best ones to have on a resume, either. It's a fine line to walk, this selection of Doctorate programs. Hopefully after these visits in September and October, it will be a lot more clear.

In work news, I have decided to entertain an offer for relocation. In this particular circumstance, "entertain" means listen to what they are going to offer (it's already been indicated to me that they will at least offer), weigh the value of the offer, and if it's financially and occupationally beneficial, determine if it's worth up to a year away from Matt to accept. I'm not crazy about the idea, but Va Beach (where the offer would be for) is less than four hours away from one of the more prestigious schools that Matt's considering, and it could be doable. We have no idea when the relocation would take place, nor do we know what type of compensation they will offer, but I've decided to keep an open mind to it. The first deadline for offers is October 15th, so I'll have to sweat it out for another month.

Okay...time to wrap it up and prepare for our connecting flight. I may post once or twice while we're travelling, or you may not hear from me again until I return to Denver. I'll leave ya hangin'...

What I'm Listening To: the sights and sounds of O'Hare

First Word That Comes To Mind: fly

What I'm Currently Reading: Barney Hoskyns - Hotel California


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland