What Are You Doing New Years Eve

12/29/2005 - 1:24 PM

"What are you doing New Year's Eve?"

Of all the holiday songs that are out there, this is the one that seems most sincere to me. The lyrics are definitely more than just a regular conversation between two people, and yet the sentiment is pretty simple and to the point. "No one rocks my world more than you, and even though I know you could be with anyone you want, would you be with me on New Years Eve?" That vulnerability and sincerity seems to be missing from a lot of holiday music, which focuses on symbols and icons, rather than the people involved.

Matt and I are taking it easy this year, compared to last December 31st, when we were up in Breckenridge with five friends in a two-bedroom condo. The p/t job gave me enough additional incentive to work that night until 10, and then I'll head home to Matt, where we'll open our Christmas stockings and gifts. It will be a little odd this year, since we agreed to keep our presents to a minimum, but we'll be together, and that's what matters. Without giving too much away, I got him a box of something he LOVES. And it's not chocolate, either. Hmmm...what could John have gotten him?

I'm way too amused by the gift this year. Isn't it supposed to be about the person you�re getting it for, not yourself? I'll share the results with y'all over the weekend.

So things SHOULD slow down next week. I've thought that for the past two weeks, but this time looks to be a lock. And then it will pick up again, with a trip to New Jersey for work. It's just a couple of days, so it won't be too bad. After a couple of years of putting it off, I think February will be the end of the p/t job. I used to love the job, but it's simply a job now, and the money we make on commissions isn't nearly as good as we used to make, so in March I think I'm going to reclaim my weeknights. It will be strange, but I won't miss it.

Okay...back to work here. Just in case you're not familiar with the song referenced above, here are the lyrics for you.

With credit to Frank Loesser...

Maybe it's much too early in the game
Ah, but I thought I'd ask you just the same
What are you doing New Years
New Years Eve?

Wonder whose arms will hold you good and tight
When it's exactly twelve o'clock that night
Welcoming in the New Year
New Years Eve

Maybe I'm crazy to suppose
I'd ever be the one you chose
Out of a thousand invitations
You'd receive

Ah, but in case I stand one little chance
Here comes the jackpot question in advance
What are you doing New Years
New Years Eve?

Wonder whose arms will hold you good and tight
When it's exactly twelve o'clock that night
Welcoming in the New Year
New Years Eve

What are you doing New Years Eve?

What I'm Listening To: The Carpenters - What Are You Doing New Year's Eve

First Word That Comes To Mind: lyric

What I'm Currently Reading: Rolling Stone


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland