A Weekend of Running

08/27/2006 - 2:10 PM

Another weekend underway here, and I'm already wishing I had one more day. It's not that the weekend has been REALLY busy, but it's been busy enough. I think I just need a nap.

Friday night's date night went very well, with dinner at a Mongolian restaurant up in Boulder, followed by some sugar-free ice cream from Ben and Jerry's and a walk along the Boulder Creek. Matt worked up at the card shop on Saturday, and I went grocery shopping, got a haircut, bought some new running shoes, and hit some other errands before going to the gym. By the time that Matt got home, I was whooped, and my lower back was killing me. However, we had obligations to meet on Saturday night, so we met up with Malcolm, Doug, and a couple of other friends for dinner at Steuben's. The restaurant had a cool look and feel to it, but the food and service were definitely lacking. We won't be going back there any time soon.

Once we finished with dinner, we headed to Capitol Hill to meet up with some co-workers for an informal birthday gathering. Sadly, about half of the people who said they would be there didn't show, and I felt bad for the birthday girl. My back was still killing me, so we took off after about an hour, but I know the birthday girl was still glad to see us.

Today we got up, headed out for church, and then did lunch at Jimmy John's with Malcolm before heading home. Matt's camped out on the couch, enjoying a lazy day without his laptop (the hard drive died yesterday), and I'm off to the gym. I have five days left on my diet/training, and I promised Dre I'd do cardio every day until then. So a half hour or so on the elliptical won't kill me, and I'll probably do some ab work as well. I've got five pounds to go for my goal, and I know I won't hit it by Thursday, but my fitness level has come SO far that I can't classify this as a failure. But we're gonna celebrate on Thursday with an Italian meal that can't be beat, and then I'm taking a week off from the gym. But I'll be back in it next week...can't let all of this progress just disappear.

What I'm Listening To: The TV in the living room

First Word That Comes To Mind: training

What I'm Currently Reading: Karin Slaughter - Triptych


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland