Wasted Waist

04/27/2006 - 11:17 AM

I�m dragging today, although I�m not sure why. Last night, I got a good night�s sleep, although I woke up a little earlier than I planned on. Good thing, too, because I forgot to turn my alarm clock on. I have a bad habit of waking up prior to the alarm, but for once it served me well.

A co-worker of mine has a wife who works at a hospital helping people with sleep disorders. I�m wondering if I�m not a good candidate for this program, because I�ve really had a hard time over the last year. I never used to have problems sleeping, but I�d say the last two years have been pretty tough. Seven hours is usually my minimum for sleeping, but a lot of times I don�t get more than six or so. It may just be the earlier wake-up time I have now, but I�ve always been a morning person. Maybe I�m just a morning person when I don�t HAVE to wake up that early. Or maybe 5 AM isn�t actually MORNING! There�s a concept�

Matt and I are heading up to the mountains this weekend. I�ve talked about Estes Park, where I visited on my first trip to Colorado, and how much I love it up there in past entries. Matt�s gone up with me a couple of times, and it�s always so relaxing. Bad omen for this trip, though�I got a room at a different place this trip, since my normal lodge doesn�t open until the first week of May. They sent me a confirmation this week, and in with the confirmation was an insert that has hiking trail suggestions on one side, and how the Bible is our �trail guide� on the other. I may have to smuggle Matt in to avoid any issues. I�ll leave some air holes, I promise.

Dre is re-measuring me on Friday during our next session. There have been some drastic improvements, but I like having the benchmarks as I go along. He took those traumatic �before� pictures back in February, but these new ones should be a definite improvement. I was actually trying on work slacks yesterday, and the 36 waist was too big. That�s a big deal to me. My waist size was 33-34 all through my 20s, but I�ve struggled with that since I turned 30. The key now is to try and keep it that way. I�m shooting for a 32 waist, and if I can get there, I�ll be a happy camper, but that�s a little ways off. I carry the bulk of my excess weight in my torso, so it will be a struggle. I�d love to get down to a body fat percentage somewhere in the area of 10-15%, though. It would be nice to actually see some of the muscle definition that I�m working toward, rather than just taking it on faith that it�s in there somewhere.

That�ll do it for now. Life�s just pressing on, work is busy, and the working out is going well. And on top of all that, I�m turning 37 this coming month. I have all of these issues with mortality that have been floating around in my head, but with everything going on in my life, I�ve been pushing it to the back. They�ll have to be dealt with at some point, though. Just not right now.

What I'm Listening To: Daniel Powter - Bad Day

First Word That Comes To Mind: fat

What I'm Currently Reading: About 12 magazines simultaneously


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland