Two Gays Walk Into a Restaurant...

07/03/2004 - 1:03 PM

My internet connection is down at home for the next few days, so my entries will be a little more delayed than usual, but I�d like to try and kick a couple out before the end of the weekend. This entry is actually being written the night of July 1, 2004, but it won�t be posted until the 3rd. I�m working both Saturday and Sunday this weekend, so I will probably post from there. Please bear with me�

So the date has been set for July 23, 2005. July, because we figure that people will be able to get time off more easily in the summer, and the 23rd because we met on March 23, 2003. At this point, it appears that the church is cleared for the date, and we sat down with someone at the restaurant we want to have the reception at, and they are now holding that date for us. We have a good idea of the rings we want to get, and we�ve both started making out guest lists. Probably the only thing we don�t have a good handle on yet is how we�re going to pay for this, but I know that will come in time, as well.

Despite our breakneck speed at planning this event more than a year out, we�re really not in a rush. The main reason for our early preparations is that Matt begins grad school at the end of August, along with his f/t job, and my p/t job should hopefully kick back in at a more regular interval at the end of September. It makes sense to get a lot of this stuff out of the way while we have the time to do it right. I should mention that we both are enjoying this process WAY too much, so it�s not that difficult on us.

The visit to the restaurant was eye opening to me about how we will be viewed through this process. Tara Lynn walked us through what they offer for receptions, and we made our initial game plan, she had to ask us about how we want the event titled. That led to the question about whether we will share a last name (something we haven�t talked about, but I�m extremely opposed to), and Tara Lynn telling us she�s never set up �one of these� before. Please don�t take the quotes as meaning �freak show�, because I think she�s genuinely interested in making this work for all parties involved. However, we are breaking ground for people other than ourselves in this process, and I suppose we should expect plenty more of those types of questions as we go through this.

So the 25% deposit is due by the end of August, and then the restaurant is ours. If someone shows up and wants it before we pay the deposit, we do have first dibs on the place, and it won�t be too difficult to pull the deposit together.

In other news, I had an interview for a job with a firm that manages patents for different types of technology. The job seems like a very good fit, and the pay almost puts me back up where I was a year ago when I left my last f/t job. My only issue is that the commute will be longer, but I think I can survive. I�m hoping to hear some more feedback from my recruiter later on today.

That�s all for now�more as the weekend progresses.

[PS - I found out yesterday afternoon that I didn't get the job I interviewed for. My recruiter told me that they felt like I might be overqualified for the position. He felt it was because they thought I was too ambitious for their comfort, and I have a feeling he might be right. At least I still have a job...]

What I'm Listening To: Terror Squad - Lean Back

First Word That Comes To Mind: malfunction

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland