By the Time I Get to Fort Wayne..

08/12/2004 - 10:02 PM

Since I'm heading to Indiana in the morning, my short-lived entry spree is about to end. So what do I talk about...Matt's interaction with his folks tonight, or today's news?

I'm a little crushed over the ruling in California, although it's completely expected. Newsome was starting the debate and giving the process a swift kick in the ass, so as cruel as it seems to nullify that many marriages, the legal basis is there for it. However, if the pro-marriage pundits are to be believed, this is only a temporary setback, and marriages will resume in the near future. It's a bit optimistic, but one can hope. And I hope that S.F. honors the couples with free marriages when they come back for round two.

As for New Jersey, I'm glad to see that McGreevey is owning up to his infidelity, although it looks like he's only doing it because a lawsuit was on the way. Having known that I was gay back into my early teens makes me a bit biased on this, but to be in such a high office and still be reckless with the indiscretions just blows me away. Needless to say, their two kids are going to need counseling at some point. No doubt.

Speaking of kids, Matt got into a heated discussion with his mom tonight because he's getting the impression that he has to hide our relationship from his nieces and nephews until they're well into puberty, and he's not comfortable with that. I'm hoping that it cools off a little bit before I get there, but it was a conversation that needed to take place. Here's hoping that this weekend will be enjoyable.

Okay...off to bed, and then to the airport in the morning. Y'all have a great weekend.

What I'm Listening To: Sneaker Pimps - Someone To Love

First Word That Comes To Mind: sleep

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland