How I've Spent the Last Week

02/04/2006 - 4:10 PM

Sorry for the week-long gap. It's actually been a busy one, with many distractions. Here's where my head is at right now...

- The passing of Coretta Scott King has affected me more than I would have predicted. I sat in the living room this morning, watching her coffin being carried into the Georgia Capitol, captivated by what was going through her children's minds as they experienced the most extreme form of public mourning. This is a woman who was involved in one of the most influential movements of the 20th Century, and she could have pulled back and said "I did my part", but she didn't. She kept herself involved through multiple organizations, speaking on behalf of worthy causes for as long as her health would allow.

The most impressive thing about her work to me is how vocal she was about tying the rights of gays and lesbians to the Civil Rights movement, and she didn't have to do that. But sometimes that's what it takes to change minds...people that are respected speaking on a topic you wouldn't expect them to. Her argument was completely logical, and hopefully she swayed some people who otherwise would have followed "the cultural line".

- I had to write up an employee last week and give her a "Job Improvement Plan". Of all the things I've done as a supervisor, writing people up is by far my least favorite task. She cried, got angry, asked questions, cried some more, asked me to reconsider...all in the span of 10 minutes. Her performance has improved over the last week, but some of the behaviors that got her written up are lingering, and I have to meet with her weekly in order to revisit what needs to change. We are heading into our busy season, and this couldn't happen at a worse time, but better late than never, I guess. She's been overdue for this for quite a long time.

- Matt and I have been going out to dinner almost every night, catching up with multiple people that we haven't seen much of lately. I'm not complaining, but it's always nagging in the back of my mind that we need to eat at home more often. As Matt gets closer and closer to making decisions about his PhD, the belts will need to get much tighter. We've talked about how we need to prepare for "starving student" mode, although I will be able to contribute a full-time salary to the cause. I'm currently planning how to get out of debt as quickly as possible, so our exposure will be as limited as possible once the cash flow slows.

- Reluctantly, I'm rooting for the Steelers tomorrow. I figure if they beat the Colts, then I need to respect that, and recognize they are the better team. Thinking about this took me back to the 70's, when my mom bought my brother and I corresponding duffel bags that had the Steelers (mine) and the Cowboys (Jake's). There was no rhyme or reason to it, but I took ownership of the team allegiance. That, like the bag, faded over time.

- We've got multiple trips coming up...Minneapolis later this month, and Indy in March for our anniversary. Watch those frequent flier miles rack up!

Okay, that's going to do it. We are headed out for dinner again tonight (a local favorite of authentic Italian). Here's the weekend random 10, or "what Matt has to endure when he's stuck at home spring cleaning with me":

What Do I Have To Do (7" Mix) - Kylie Minogue
Breakdown - Mariah Carey
The Tin Man - Kenny Chesney
Keeper Of The Stars (Radio Version) - Tracy Byrd
Talking In Your Sleep - Crystal Gayle
If It Makes You Happy - Sheryl Crow
Poor Leno - R�yksopp
Tonight I'll Be Lonely Too - Alison Krauss
Help Me - Wynonna
Whatever (Mr Mig Remix) - Jill Scott

One last thing...I usually only post these things if I like the outcome. I do like this one, so here goes...

You Are Kermit
Hi, ho! Lovable and friendly, you get along well with everyone you know.
You're a big thinker, and sometimes you over think life's problems.
Don't worry - everyone know's it's not easy being green.
Just remember, time's fun when you're having flies!

The Muppet Personality Test

What I'm Listening To: Everything But the Girl - Fighting Talk

First Word That Comes To Mind: update

What I'm Currently Reading: Entertainment Weekly Oscar Issue


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland