Another State of John

07/17/2006 - 5:35 PM

Here's the State of John (in case you were wondering, because I know I WAS):

-John doesn't really know what the State of John is. It's as if John feels like John should just be able to find his own state, without actually working at it. You'd think since John is already in the middle of John, that he would have a clue. And yet he doesn't. So John finds a way to ignore the State, even when it means wandering through the State with his eyes closed, bumping into everyone and everything, and not really being a conscious John. Conscious John GOOD...comatose John BAD. You'd think this would be an obvious conclusion, but you'd also be surprised at some of the obvious things that John ignores as he passes through this life.

-John is in the middle of some political upheaval. Politics in John tend to be pretty black and white, but lately John's politics have been open to interpretation. The struggle is over what's in the immediate good of John, and what's good for the long-term survival of the State. I suppose any state has to deal with these issues, but when you're personally invested, I wonder how impartial and objective you can truly be. The State likes to pride itself on long-term sustainability, but what's on the drawing board and what happens in real life can be two completely different things.

-John is overall happy with the inhabitants of the State. I suppose that there could be improvements made in any neighborhood, but as a whole, the population mix is ideal (considering there's usually only one other permanent resident).

(Don't you hate it when someone blogs in code, with language that they'll understand down the road, but you can only guess at what the true intention of the posting really is? Or do you enjoy the guessing game, like I do?)

-John's budget is very much in flux at the moment. (Okay...more concrete) There's some need for consolidating and reviewing how the budget is spent, as well as researching some creative revenue sources, but there's no immediate crisis on the horizon. Yet.

-The State of John will relocate in approximately one year from now. That's a given. As a matter of fact, you could be reading this very webpage a year from now, and the move could very well be in progress. Hence the whole short-term/long-term assessment kerfuffle (sorry...been watching too much Little Britain lately.) I had a bit of a freak-out a month ago over the State, and although it's definitely subsided, the remnants of that mini-meltdown remain. I freaked Matt out pretty well with it, and I don't think he understood why I was so out of sorts over it. I'm good with it now, and I know the change is inevitable, but that doesn't change the fact that a lot of what's upcoming cannot be predicted in any way, shape or form, and that type of future freaks most people out. I just think too much, I guess.

So where does this leave the State? Polling is decidedly concerned, although I doubt that anyone thinks that the state is heading for the crapper. The guy in charge is well-liked, and the constituents are pleased with the recent physical improvements throughout the State (including a loss of land in less-desireable neighborhoods). But does a better-looking State lead to a better State? Truthfully, I think we all know the answer to that. Maybe if I blogged a bit more, and took the time to work through these things once in a while, it wouldn't be as troubling as it has felt lately. But that's just a guess. One never knows what trouble is up ahead on the horizon without a search party up ahead, or a satellite. Can I get one of those satellites? I hear the price has come down a LOT since they were first invented.

What I'm Listening To: the sound of Chicago O'Hare International

First Word That Comes To Mind: state

What I'm Currently Reading: in between books (getting ready to read "Call of the Mall"


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland