The Star of My Own Drama

07/19/2004 - 9:15 PM

I was in bed at 9, as I promised myself I would be, but it ended up being an exercise in futility, as it usually is when I WANT to sleep a full eight hours. Too many voices running through my head to think about shutting down, and then tonight, the beagle next door has been serenading me with a sad tale of woe, detailing the time that she's left alone in a condo on the third floor.

I've had evil thoughts about the demise of this dog, but it's not her fault, and I'm probably at Matt's more nights than I am here, since it's closer to work. But I'm still tempted.

So, in hopes of purging the voices and getting some well-needed sleep, here is a list of what's on my mind, in no particular order:

- Matt

- A little bit about work, but that's not weighing too much

- Will I ever be able to sell this place? The condo downstairs has been on the market for at least 3 months, and I've never even seen anyone looking at it.

- The trip to Florida on Friday

- Making love to Matt yesterday (still)

So my major accomplishment this evening was rewiring my entertainment center, since too many of the wires behind it were visible from the front. Strange task to undertake on a weeknight, but I had to put in a new surge protector, so I figured I would kill two birds with one power strip. We'll see how long it lasts, but it looks much better than it did before.

Work is very bearable at the moment, but it's only a matter of time before all hell breaks loose again. I'm becoming much more territorial of my "domain", and I fear that this may become a problem. We got our bonus structure today, which goes back retroactively to January, and it sucks. How fair is it to be bonused against something completely different from how you were bonused the year before if you didn't even know what the criteria was? (John's issues of equity and fairness bubble up yet again) Needless to say, the actions of others directly affect my ability to maximize this incentive, and I will not take it any more.

At least in my mind, anyway, since I'm a bit down the food chain in our organization. But the rebellious fantasy plays in my head like a big-screen drama of success through adversity, with me playing the flawed but still likeable protagonist, and I like how I play the part. Trouble is, I don't get to write my own ending in real life, just influence the outcome to a certain extent.

Alright...it's time for round 2 of "Let's Get Some Sleep!" Catch ya later...

What I'm Listening To: Diana DeGarmo - Don't Cry Out Loud

First Word That Comes To Mind: sleep

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland