I Get So Emotional, Baby

06/25/2004 - 5:17 PM

How is it that a wedding more than a year away is already so overwhelming? I�m baffled�

Responses to our upcoming nuptials (or �the happy occasion�, as I�ve come to refer to it as) have been extremely positive, but they are usually followed by a long list of questions and clarifications. Who knew that what we call the religious ceremony was going to be of such interest? Not me. Among the other questions are ones about rings, surnames, family, attire, reception(s), and bachelor parties, which hadn�t even dawned on me until someone else brought it up. With two men, that just seems like a recipe for disaster, but we�ll cross that bridge when we get to it.

I think I�ve said it before, but the great thing about this is that we get to make the rules up as we go along, and use the parts that work for us without any judgment. No need for bridesmaids and ushers, and no reason for an engagement ring. There aren�t any brides, so there won�t be any bridal showers, and who knows if we�ll do the registry thing.

There is one clich�d thing I do want to do, though�a limo. Matt mentioned that we didn�t need one, but for some reason, I�d love to have it. Even if it�s just a town car with a driver for the morning and afternoon, I�d be happy. Hey�you�re only a new groom once.

So among the many things we need to sort out are the reception, the guest list, the structure of the church ceremony, where the legal ceremony will be, the vows we will exchange, and where we will go for a honeymoon. We�ve decided to hang around with family and friends, since so many people will be flying in to see us.

MTV had a Real Life special on last night called "I'm Gay, and I'm Getting Married". Interesting show, but here's my dilemma. If I'm getting misty watching other people get married, what am I going to be like when it's me up on that altar? It won't be pretty.

Okay�my brain is swimming. More later�

What I'm Listening To: Toad the Wet Sprocket - High on a Riverbed

First Word That Comes To Mind: decisions

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland