I Should Be Sleeping

07/28/2004 - 4:56 AM

Lousy night of sleep...why do I let jobs get to me so much that they affect my life outside of a skyscraper, as well as in it? Actually, does 22 floors qualify as a skyscraper, or just an office building? Just wondering...

Instead of taking the extra day off that I'd been given yesterday, I went into work. Part of that was to save the extra day off for later on in the year, and part was simply feeling guilty that I was off work several days at month-end. So I get to work yesterday, and one of my two partners is off. His wife has a kidney stone, and is in the hospital, and there is no one to watch the kids, so he's home with them. My gut says he's taking advantage of me coming back early, but I have no proof of that. All I know is that I was hoping to get a quiet day yesterday to fly under the radar and make some progress, and that didn't happen. And then today, the other partner is off because she's working on Saturday. Please let the first partner be there today...

Once again, I need to learn to shut the voices in my head off at night. As much as I'm not happy with the job I'm at, it's not that bad, and it BARELY pays the bills. I know there's more waiting for me career-wise once we get through the summer, but it's rough for me to sit through something with just a hope of things getting better. Ted told me about a job opening he was going to have almost a month ago, and asked if I would be applying for it.

[Rule #45 - Please don't tell John stuff like this unless everything is in place. Suddenly it becomes money in the bank.]

Of course, there have been delays with the position, and now they're looking at 2005 budgets and worrying about head counts. So don't hold your breath on this position, either.

I might as well get ready and head into work early. Or I could call in sick...

I wish.

What I'm Listening To: The Voices in my Head

First Word That Comes To Mind: Dread

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland