Saturday, Here In the Mountains

07/29/2006 - 9:56 PM

Matt and I are sitting on the bed as I type this, chilling out after a very busy Saturday. The day started out later than usual, with me waking up at 7:30 instead of 6 or so like usual. I watched some news, did some Sudoku puzzles, and killed time until Matt woke up around 9:30 or so. He was working for his friend at the card shop today, so I took him to the park and ride to catch the bus up to Boulder, and then did a couple of things around the house before heading to the gym. After the gym, I came home, showered and changed, and headed up to Boulder to pick Matt up and head to Mount Evans for the afternoon. Since we're looking at moving next year, all of these "I've never been there" scenarios keep popping into our heads, and this is one I've never done, although he's done it five or six times in the past eight years.

The ride was great, and in less than 90 minutes we were on the mountain. These drives are always great to me, but this one was even better because the temperature was perfect up there (unlike here, where it hit 100 today). The view, even before reaching the top, was amazing, but I was amazed just how...uncomfortable I was at that altitude. You'd think living by the mountains for the past five years (yeah...it'll be five on Sept 4th) that I'd be acclimated, but Mount Evans is about 14,200 feet above sea level. Not sure that there's much you can do to prepare for walking uphill about 200 feet prior to actually doing it, but the hike was worth it. It was as if you could see the entire Rocky Mountain range, even though it was probably only about 50 miles or so in any direction (Denver was even visible from up there). The mountains weren't the only good-looking scenery to be found up there, either. Ain't he cute? On the way down, we saw marmots, a herd of about 40 mountain goats, and a deer keeping an eye on the highway. Dinner was in Idaho Springs, where we had great green chile, excellent posole, and the blandest refried beans you'd ever hope not to taste (Doug used the phrase "refried cardboard" when I told him, and that fits it perfectly). Last stop of the evening was Coldstone for a couple of milkshakes, and then we headed home.

Why can't every day be like today?

What I'm Listening To: Some ambient/chill iTunes radio station

First Word That Comes To Mind: chill

What I'm Currently Reading: the new Entertainment Weekly


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland