Reading, Writing and Rambling

07/17/2005 - 9:05 AM

First off, just discovered this diary, and had a blast reading a few of her rants and day-to-day ramblings. I'll be adding this one to the bookmarks.

Second, it's been a reading summer so far. I've probably read about seven books since the beginning of May, which has to be my most prolific period since I was forced to read in college. My two favorites so far are The Traveller, by John Twelve Hawks, which is a Matrix-style story about people who can consciously leave their bodies via their "soul", or Light, and The History of Love, by Nicole Krauss, which I'm not going to try and sum up, other than to say that an assumed lost book brings lost souls together. (Note to Non-Descript...if you're out there, I think you'd like this one. Definitely has a Haruf feel to it)

So now the fun part. I picked up Harry Potter yesterday, and have begun my ascent into his world, once again. So far, it does feel dark, but I'm not far enough in to critique. That's the thing with HP books, though...each one feels like such a continuation of the last one that it's almost useless to try and judge an individual book anymore. If you've come this far with the series, resistance is futile. Just go with it.

Six days and counting...guest #1 came in from NYC last night (or should I say this morning, courtesy of a 2-hour delay at Dulles that got his plane to Denver at 1:12 am). He's staying with us for two days, but I doubt I'll see much of him. Today is the memorial service for our minister's husband. He passed away on Monday after a long, drawn out battle with cancer. Later on, Matt's being taken out for a "bachelor dinner" by this guy and Malcolm, and then he's going to stay with Malcolm for a few days.

It's funny...for all the business I feel like I need to get done for the ceremony on Saturday, Matt seems to have double the work to do. Part of it is he worked a full day at the f/t yesterday to get an extra day off next week, but he just has that natural planner thing going on. I spent part of the day yesterday running a bunch of errands, and then laid low for a good chunk of it, just doing a few things around the condo to prepare for our guest. He's currently zonked out on the couch.

Other than a couple of "thank you for helping" gifts I need to get, and bringing the program to Kinko's to be printed, that's about all that's left. My last duty before the ceremony will be to socialize with all the folks coming in for this "happy occasion". I feel like I'm getting ready to give birth or something, but there isn't going to be any post-partum here. Once it's over, I get to move on and enjoy my life with Matt. Oh...and write a LOT of Thank You notes.

What I'm Listening To: Rascal Flatts - Bless the Broken Road

First Word That Comes To Mind: wrap-up

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland