We Need A Resolution

01/09/2006 - 11:08 PM

It's always hurry up and wait with me. Here it is, after 11 PM the night before I head off on a business trip, and I feel like I need to make an entry, even though my brain isn't completely prepared to do so. So you're not going to get quality here.

The weekend ended up being a great one...four days of (almost) no work, and a lot of quality time with Matt. I am continually amazed by how much time we spend together without getting bored. Sure, there are lulls in the conversation, but within a short amount of lull, we're back into it. If you didn't know us, and you were sitting in the back seat listening, you'd swear we bicker a lot, mainly because we both crave the knowledge of our partner not only knowing WHAT we said, but WHY. It can be challenging at times, but it's also extremely rewarding. We get a lot of backstory and deeper meaning, where many other couples would have more of a "that's nice, dear" reaction.

That's not to say that it never does turn into bickering. Sometimes a phrase or comment is misinterpreted, and that leads to some pretty interesting mini-fireworks, like what happened last night. I took something Matt said the wrong way, he got defensive that I would even consider taking the comment that way, and it took about 10 minutes of heated discussion to work it out. Once we did, everything was fine, but it's that "working it out" period that can be pretty rough. Truthfully, it's the one thing I hate about this relationship, but my hatred is for how it makes us feel, not for the fact it happens. This, in my opinion, is one of the healthiest aspects of our interaction...recognizing the differences, talking them out, and resolving them (or getting as close to a common ground as possible).

So the next two days will be spent in New Jersey. As I jokingly told Matt's co-worker today, I'm going to treat it as if I'm going to stay at a spa in a third-world nation. I'll just close the curtains, turn off the lights, light a couple of candles that are already packed, and take a hot bath. Mmmm...relaxation.

What I'm Listening To: Tracy Chapman - For My Lover

First Word That Comes To Mind: relax

What I'm Currently Reading: Patricia Cornwell - Predator


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland