Reason #26

02/24/2004 - 7:38 PM

Reason #26 why John feels off lately: politics.

Folks, I'm just sick with the way things are going, but I do have hope. As much as it disturbs me how far to the right (and not the good right) the pendulum seems to be swinging, I have a sneaking suspicion that people, being the collectively moderate group of individuals that they are, will bring it back to the center.

My initial reaction to affecting change is a patient, gradual approach. However, I think it's time that society gets a kick in the ass. "Judicial legislating"...isn't this what the judicial branch is in place for? Seems to me it's supposed to determine whether the laws in place reflect the basic tenets of our nation, and specifically, the Constitution of the United States. But that's just my interpretation...I'm too liberal in my thinking to be rational and create a rational, logical opinion.

Despite whatever you think of his motives, Mayor Newsome is, in my eyes, putting an ideal ahead of his own self. If the US was made up of San Francisco�s everywhere, then it would be a no-brainer move to issue marriage licenses to ALL couples, but we know this is not true. People in the Democratic Party had already been looking at him for national office, but I'm sure at the moment he's damaged goods. That may change if public opinion shifts, but the fact that, almost 40 years after equal rights based on race was enforced in this country, a black man or woman has not even gotten their party's nomination for President, I don't think it looks too good for him.

On the other hand, it doesn't look too good for Bush, either. "Compassionate conservative" just went out the window. No matter how you look at his statement, and no matter how ambiguous he wants to be with the rights that SHOULD be extended, he is advocating using an amendment to the Constitution to take rights AWAY. The American people will recognize that...if nothing else, I have to believe that this will happen.

-----------------

Despite whatever my reasons may be, I feel an obligation to myself to come out at work. I was spoiled at the last f/t job, where it was cool to be gay, and I also feel like I'm protecting Ted, who isn't out at work, either. As much as I'd like to continue that, I can't keep lying to people to avoid Ted facing "guilt by association". I'm going to talk to him first, but I'm working on a tactful way to say, "I have to do this".

-----------------

Matt gets back in less than 24 hours, and I will barely get to see him. I'm working five nights in the next six days at the p/t job, so the time with Matt will be minimal, but it will still be time with him. I have no doubt that seeing him peacefully sleeping as I get up in the morning will only reaffirm my desire to stand up for what I believe in.

He's a part of my family now...I think that's worth fighting for.

-----------------

[PS - Matt sent this to me from an internet cafe in London this morning. I had to post this... "I saw on the news about Bush... he's such a dumbass... this is far from over though. Little do these right-wingers know... lol" That's my boy!]

What I'm Listening To: Kelis - Caught Out There

First Word That Comes To Mind: fight

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland