A Questionable Defense

07/06/2004 - 6:54 PM

The only defense I have for not being more regular with my entries is the same one that Miss Edith mentions on her most recent entry, although (thankfully) my entries have been a bit more frequent than hers, which really isn't saying much of anything. No one really wants to brag that they do most of their journaling at work, but when you're stuck in front of a computer for 8 hours a day, it truly is the most convenient way to go.

I guess the next question that raises is "how effective can you be when you only write at work", but I think I got pretty deep while at the last f/t job. If anything, I don't feel like I've gotten nearly as deep since I left there. Entries have been pretty superficial, feeling more like an eye-witness account than the narrative of someone that was actually involved. However, I'm not really sure how to kick my ass back into gear. Anyone who might have a suggestion, please feel free to offer it up.

Matt and I spent part of the fifth of July with Ted and Dale, grilling out as a payback for us watching their dogs. What a great afternoon...just hanging out, chatting away, enjoying the food (for the most part), and waiting for the rain to fall, which it just barely did. We spent the majority of the time talking weddings (they're considering their own, and they're already wearing rings). Of course this leads to questions about our happy occasion, and we kept talking about it, even after we left their place.

After an extremely hectic 7 days last week, I'm enjoying a laid-back pace this week. We're getting out of town this weekend and heading up into the mountains with Ted and Dale. I'm hoping a couple of days out of the city will help me shut down the crazy voices in my head, or at least calm them down. Hopefully, I'll get some writing done while I'm there, too.

What I'm Listening To: Big and Rich - Wild West Show

First Word That Comes To Mind: slower

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland