Pretty Plateau

03/21/2006 - 5:36 AM

I've hit a plateau with the weight loss, which is cool. And yet it's not. I'm competitive by nature, and to get all of this instant gratification on what I've been doing is perfect to feed my ego AND my desire for more at the same time. I know that this is more than a number on a scale, or the notch on my belt, but those are tangibles that I can work with, and it's tough to work around them. Yes, I know that muscle weighs more than fat, and I also know that your metabolism catches up with you, finds out your evil plot, and intentionally slows down because it thinks we're heading into a hunger strike or some other dastardly plot. So I'll keep telling myself to plug on, to keep running, keep lifting, keep eating right.

Deny, deny, deny....

Matt's been gone for a week now, and I miss him like crazy. I'll get to see him on Friday, but in the meantime, I want to be a little more productive with my time. Although working out 5-6 times a week isn't anything to sneeze at either, I suppose. I've caught up with friends, done some stuff around the house, read, and enjoyed the downtime. You never know when you're going to run out of it, so I suppose I should revel in it while I can. Or something...

Interviewed candidate number one for the open position yesterday, and I think she's a perfect fit for me and my odd management style. Very motivated personally, yet not a recluse, either. Rare to find a combination of both in the workplace, so I may jump the gun and hire her before the posting period for the job is completely up. Needless to say, work hasn't been too taxing the last couple of days, considering that the folks we service have been in a conference this week, and they're trapped there until Thursday afternoon. I'm actually catching up on MY work instead of other people's messes.

Okay...time to head to the bus stop. Just wanted to get a few things out there. And I'm not as gloom and doom as I sounded earlier in the entry. "I'm Feelin' Good", to quote Jennifer Trynin. Or Jennifer Lopez. What a range THAT is!

What I'm Listening To: Mary J. Blige - Love at 1st Sight

First Word That Comes To Mind: funk

What I'm Currently Reading: In Between Books


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland