I'm a Little Pop Whore, Short and Stout

08/10/2006 - 1:38 PM

I am a pop whore right now. And I mean that in the best sense of the word, if there is a �best sense� of that word. I go through phases where I could care less about the music that I�m listening to, and then there are times that I�m almost fanatical about it. Here are some of my current listening pleasures�

1. Corrine Bailey Rae � Norah Jones, but with a heck of a lot more soul. This is in the running for favorite CD of �06. The vibe is cool�cool enough to make me forget this damn summer heat when I�m listening.
2. Gary Allan �Life Ain�t Always Beautiful� � Wow�how much more powerful can one three-minute song be? I�ve loved Gary ever since �Her Man�, but I just don�t see how he can top this. (For reference, his current CD, Tough All Over�, was recorded after his wife committed suicide. �Life� is only one highlight of a remarkable concept album.)
3. Justin Timberlake �Sexyback� � Don�t start�I know. I just can�t help myself.
4. Pussycat Dolls �Buttons� � Okay�once again, I know. I embrace the inner pop whore.
5. Nelly Furtado � Her new CD Loose is the only one giving Corrine a run for her money at the moment. Part pop confection, part funk exhibition, this is my �roll down the windows and blast it� jam of the summer. �Promiscuous� might be the jam of the moment, but �Maneater� is MY jam!
6. Gnarls Barkley � It�s been out for a while, and I can say I knew it way back before it was playing on every store Muzak I�d hear. There are spots on the CD that I�m like �WTF�, but for the most part, it�s brilliant.
7. Willie 92.5 � I�m back into country music big time at the moment, and this station is the reason why. To go from Rascal Flatts to Glen Campbell? Brilliant!

Okay�I need to get back to work. Tonight will be spent loaded up the cars and getting ready for the camping trip tomorrow. Maybe I�ll even get a little sleep, too. Ya never know�

What I'm Listening To: Dido - Thank You

First Word That Comes To Mind: pop

What I'm Currently Reading: About 12 magazines simultaneously


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland