Plan for the Future

07/06/2005 - 6:11 AM

I've been at work for almost an hour, and the sun's just barely over the horizon. How F'd up is that?

Good news...interviews today for what looks like my replacement. The suggestions I made about the readjusting of the department have been adopted, and for once, I'm on the proactive side of the corporate ladder. Usually, I just roll with the punches, and get away with a few butterfly bandages and an occasional black eye. It's going to be a bit tight in the short term, but if the person I recommended is brought on, it will make my life SO much easier. And just in time for a week off from work.

It's only 17 days until the ceremony (16 shopping days for those of you so inclined), and the excitement is...steady. I don't feel a spike quite yet, although when I'm planning stuff, it gets a bit elevated. The challenge this week is to get to a good place with the vows. Matt and I are going to sit down and figure out what points we want to cover (sort of like cherish, honor, respect, but on our own terms), and then we'll write our own interpretations. Nothing too long-winded...just succinct and honest. We also agreed to see each other's vows ahead of time. It's not like what we'll be saying is a surprise, so I don't think there's a need to be all 007 about this.

So the reception is set, the cake's been finalized, the family dinner is scheduled, the cocktail party is just about done, and we're just waiting on a few more people to give us a yea or nay. My friend Terry in Lexington is coming in to play piano for us, and a lady in our church will be playing violin interludes during the ceremony. The count at this point is close to 100 people, which just blows me away, considering how many folks we invited weren't able to make it. We even did a tentative seating arrangement the other night. I had no idea how much planning goes into this, but I'm sure glad we started a year ago.

What I'm Listening To: Keith Anderson - Pickin' Wildflowers

First Word That Comes To Mind: Plan

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland