Out with the Brits

11/15/2004 - 2:27 PM

So where to start? For once, I feel like I had a very eventful weekend, and want to make sure I get it all down.

Friday at work dragged like no workday in recent memory. I couldn't get out of that place fast enough. For those of you who have endured me complaining about the job, I realized I didn't tell you about what pushed me over the edge. When I got back to work on Tuesday, our boss pulled everyone together on the floor for a quick "meeting". Might as well have been a beating...and then he takes off for a doctor's appointment with no room for any questions. Without getting into the details of what happened, he was criticizing people in the department for something he does all the time, and it really burned me. The man is not a manager...great guy, but doesn't handle conflict well, and there's plenty of it in the department. Little things through the week just made it worse, and now I'm even more ready to get out of that department and move on to something more challenging.

By the time 3:30 came around, I was so glad to be heading home. I got about an hour to just chill out, and then I met up with Matt and his friends from London at a English-style fish and chips place near my house. After dinner, we headed up to ye local Mall, killing a little time before we headed back into Denver. After a couple of quick drinks at Matt's place, we then headed out to ye local Country bar, where they got to witness horrendous drag queens doing great lip syncing, and horrendous singers slaughtering classic country songs. Despite my impaired judgment, I agreed to give all three Brits a spin around the dance floor, even though I didn�t have my boots on. I have the scuffmarks on my shoes to prove their amateur status at two-stepping.

The next morning actually began around 10 AM, when Matt and I decided to get our own workout before we met up with the lads back in town. Lunch was supposed to be followed by Bridget Jones 2, but I was still feeling a tad under the weather from all the beer I�d had the night before (the Brits were trying�er, succeeding�to get me drunk), so I stayed behind and crashed on the couch. Everyone met up at the Cheesecake Factory at 7, and then we regrouped at Matt�s for a second night of clubbing, although it was much more subdued. Sunday morning was much easier to handle than Saturday was, although I didn�t have the added incentive to get up that I did on Saturday. Unless you count the neighbors� beagle howling away at 9 AM. Damn dog�

One more group lunch on Sunday afternoon, and then the Brits were off for the airport. I spent the rest of the day at home, doing a LOT of laundry, watching the race, and capping it off with a viewing of Office Space (classic movie, I might add).

Oh�about Matt and the diary. As I mentioned in the last entry, I�ve been going back and forth with telling Matt about the journal. Turns out it worked out better than I could have hoped for. We were walking to dinner on Saturday night, and I told him more about the journal than I had before (the online part, anyway�he�s known that I keep a journal). He told me that he wanted to keep his blog general, without too much personal detail, and didn�t expect a tit-for-tat disclosure. At some point he�ll read through here, but probably not for a little while, with all of his grad school stuff still outstanding.

One last mention�it�s sad when it takes a guestbook entry to confirm that some people aren�t really the friends that you used to think they were. You can check it out if you like�it will be extremely obvious which entry I�m referring to.

What I'm Listening To: The Killers - Somebody Told Me

First Word That Comes To Mind: weekend

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland