Outplacement

10/30/2006 - 8:38 PM

Based on the events of the day, I sent this e-mail to my coach, whom I will be talking with tomorrow night...

First off, thank you so much for inviting me to join in on the teleconference. I had to drop off a couple of minutes early to attend a meeting with our outplacement firm, but I really enjoyed the discussion.

So my brain is a bit of a blur at the moment, mainly because of some of the questions that were stirred up in the course of today's meeting. As terms of our severance, we are entitled to work with an outplacement firm through several modules of their job placement program. They will not be finding us jobs, but they will be working with us on resumes, interviewing skills, career assessments, etc. I definitely see the value in all of this, but it's also throwing me for a bit of a tailspin. The program is geared toward people who are actively working toward finding a new job, and with my current situation, this is becoming an awkward activity, given my timeline.

It seems to me like I should have my house in order before I go through this, but with the company setting the timeframe for what classes are offered when...I think you know where I'm going. If we could address this tomorrow night, along with what this will impact in the course of our conversations, I would really appreciate it. Any input that you might have in the meantime would be greatly appreciated, as well.

Sorry if this is coming across a bit disjointed. I felt like I needed to get this typed out while I was still slightly engaged with the topic fresh in my mind. Have a great trip tomorrow, and I'll talk to you tomorrow night.

Hopefully I'll have a little more clarity to deal with this tomorrow. In the meantime, there's a comfortable bed with my name on it.

What I'm Listening To: The Human League - (Keep Feeling) Fascination

First Word That Comes To Mind: mush

What I'm Currently Reading: Too many political blogs to mention


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland