Out on the Patio

09/01/2004 - 8:16 PM

Okay...enough of the politics from the past few entries. Let's get back into John's life. I was going to update you on how work and Matt are going, but I got some breaking news this evening that still has me reeling...

My mom outed me to the rest of her side of my family!

I was catching up with my folks this evening, getting all the details of their week away in the Carolinas, when my mom quickly slipped into the conversation "by the way, you're out of the closet".

Whoa!

Just to give a little background, my mom was not quite what you'd call "receptive" when I came out at age 19. In fact, she threw everything you can think of at me, including the Bible, which she hadn't been reading that much recently. It's only been in the past three years that she's been more open about who I am, and no one is more amazed than myself at the progress she's made.

So all the aunts and uncles get together once a year at a beachhouse for a week, and just hang out. I guess they were out on the patio, chatting and enjoying a few drinks, when my mom spilled the beans. "I want you all to know that John's been dating a guy for quite a while now, and they're planning on having a commitment ceremony next year, so I expect you'll all be getting invitations." Woo hoo! Go mom! It's your birthday!

Time to budget for a few more people at the reception...

What I'm Listening To: Matt...chatting with him as I type

First Word That Comes To Mind: Out

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland