Out of the Caves

10/29/2004 - 6:43 PM

I remember where I was when I heard the arguments for the Florida lawsuit over chads. I was driving north along I-75 toward Greensboro to see an old friend, and I had NPR on for the entire ride. You can say what you want about the South, but they still have NPR, so there's still hope. I heard all of the arguments, and I felt like there was a good chance that the recounts would go on. I also remember the crestfallen feeling that washed over me as I heard the bad news (at least from my perspective).

Folks, if Bush wins re-election, there will be some serious deja vu going on, and not in a good way. If you think I seem out of it right now, just wait until Tuesday night.

Walter Cronkite was just on Larry King, and he sounds like my grandfather, without the bigotry. Gotta love that...

The wind is howling outside...it keeps trying to get in, and my 25 year old windows don't seem to be holding it back all that well. For every time I think about sealing them up for the winter, we get a day of 60 degree temperatures, and it seems like a crime if you can't open your windows for the first time in several weeks. So the windows remain unsealed, and the wind continues to rage.

Matt's friend Gerry is in from London this evening, but I took a pass on the festivities to follow his arrival, as I need to be at work at 6am tomorrow. I'll get to see plenty of Gerry the next 16 days, though. Once I get this weekend out of the way (working all day Sunday, along with at least 4 hours tomorrow), I'll have the following weekend off to head to Kentucky, where Terry is celebrating his 40th birthday with an all-star roast. Actually, I'm about as close as he'll get to any stars, so I won't be able to get any autographs for anyone. Sorry.

Bin Laden is alive, and he's decided to taunt us once again. Wasn't the October surprise supposed to be his capture or death? Go figure. All I can say is, almost 20% of the electorate is estimated to have already voted, so I don't know how much effect this will have, but the more I consider this, the more I think it's just going to polarize folks who already have made up their minds (in the neighborhood of 96%).

Must...stop...thinking...about...elections!

One more thought, though. On the way to dinner with Matt and Malcolm, I passed two guys on a corner wearing Nixon masks and holding a sign that side "No More Years of Fear". Definitely an encouraging sign.

What I'm Listening To: Snoop Dog feat Pharrell - Drop It Like It's Hot

First Word That Comes To Mind: Fear

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland