Order From the Menu

07/27/2005 - 6:35 AM

If today was a book, I'd bring it back to the library before the second chapter...

So the euphoria from the ceremony has dissipated slightly, and the grind of everyday life has set in, once again. Work is backed up, the weather is crappy, money is tight once again, and I have structural drama on the home front.

A friend of Matt's stayed at our place over the weekend, and accidentally allowed our tub to overflow, sending water into the bathroom of the condo below mine. I surveyed the damage last night...not too bad, but saggy sheetrock means there's an expense to pay out that I don't want to deal with. The offending friend is taking care of the expense, but it's just been stressing me, as I allow these types of things to do. Didn't I say something a while back about taking up meditation?

I woke up this morning at 4:25 AM, and on days like this, there's no attempting to go back to sleep. I have a brain like a steel trap for some things, and a sieve for others. So of course the order I didn't get placed yesterday comes back to haunt me in the early hours of the morning. And here I am, having been at work for an hour now, typing an entry instead of catching up. Efficient, eh?

Tonight is dinner with our friends Bryce and Stan. Bryce is from Toronto, and Stan is from Rochester, NY. Matt's known Bryce for about five years, and we met Stan last October when we went back to Syracuse. Great guys, very sweet, and we have a good time. These are the types of friends that I would love to have live closer, but unless I move back to NY, it's not going to happen.

They're in town for the next few days, and we are trying to make the most of it. I went up to Rocky Mountain National Park with them on Monday, they're coming over to our place for dinner tonight (we're using the crock pot they got us...how domestic is THAT?), and we're taking them out to THE highlight of Denver dining (with a little floor show to go along with it). Probably won't get to see them again until Christmas, so it's all worth it. I am going to sleep like a ROCK this weekend!

Okay, time to place that order, along with about 50 others. I'd like to update again tonight with details of the ceremony, but at this point, I think dinner will be more than enough.

What I'm Listening To: Too many voices...make them stop!

First Word That Comes To Mind: orders

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland