One More Laugh

11/10/2004 - 1:51 PM

At work right now, and I don�t feel like doing anything they�re paying me to do, so you get an entry instead. This week has been a bit of autopilot as far as activities go, but tonight should be pretty relaxing. I need to enjoy this week while I can, since next week will be my final Spanish class and three nights at the p/t job.

This past weekend�s festivities continue to put a smile on my face. I have not laughed that hard in so long, and it felt cathartic in a way. I�m hoping that Terry will be able to set me up with a tape of the roast, but there�s a lot of it that�s burned into my mind regardless of whether I see it or not. The worst part is, people could have been even more vicious than they already were. Terry�s not the prettiest guy on the planet, and it was alluded to in a few spots, but it could have been worse. People were even making stuff up�the tale of Terry�s excursion on the high seas in a production of My Fair Lady with Bea Arthur left folks rolling in the aisles, along with a recap of Terry�s (non-existent) high school football career.

Despite the vast array of jokes showcased, the main thing I was struck by was the diversity of the crowd there to share in the fun. Out of 30 people, only four were gay (including Terry), and they came from all walks of life. A couple of elected officials, a few actors, a teacher, stay-at-home moms, Democrats and Republicans (as I discovered at 4am on Sunday morning), and all of them were there to celebrate their friend Terry. Any hesitation I had about only knowing Terry when I got there disappeared, and I got several invitations to stay with folks should I find my way back to Kentucky in the near future.

I also got to see a bit of the town, too. Besides the tour of the campus, I also got to partake in some foods I don�t get to enjoy in Colorado, including Gold Star Chili, a Cincinnati-area tradition, and a Kentucky Hot Brown, which I�d never had before, but plan on having again.

Okay�I guess I should do a few things before the workday is over. Catch y�all later�

What I'm Listening To: Jeff Foxworthy - Single Life Is Just Too Hard

First Word That Comes To Mind: laugh

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland