Dropping Off the Bone

02/22/2006 - 6:57 AM

Have you ever had a muscle ache so bad that you couldn�t move a certain part of your body as well as you normally could? My arms between my shoulders and my elbows feel exactly that way. Day one of training, and I couldn�t even guide the deodorant to my armpit without kind of flopping it up toward the general vicinity. Is there something odd about me that loves this burn when it happens, even as I�m inconvenienced and uncomfortable with it at the same time?

Dre and I are going to work out fine, I think. He�s as much about form and quality of exercise as he is about building up muscle mass and burning off the fat. That means a lot, because some of the trainers I�ve come across are just �do as I say� without any explanation that most people would even admit to understanding. Having said that, my triceps and shoulders feel like they went through boot camp yesterday. Somewhere along the line, my chest will probably kick in, too.

Okay�sitting at my computer typing seems to be aggravating my triceps. The burn is now mildly painful. Time to pull out the Advil and let it work its magic on me. I�m going to use thegay's cardio program on the treadmill this afternoon, and then work with Dre tomorrow evening on back, biceps and abs. One more cardio session this week, and that�ll do it for week one. (My legs are going to take a back seat to building up my upper body, simply because they�re only a couple of workouts shy of blowing up). Dre�s going to take a �before� shot tomorrow, too, and depending on how non-mortified I am, I might even post it to give an idea of where I�m at.

Don�t hold your breath, though...

[I just went to take the Advil, and I couldn't even get the Advil up to my mouth. I had to do a little toss from my chin to my mouth to get them in. Pitiful, I tell ya...pitiful.]

What I'm Listening To: Arcadia - Election Day

First Word That Comes To Mind: sore

What I'm Currently Reading: Brian Strause - Maybe a Miracle


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland