You Can Never Go Back

01/22/2006 - 1:20 PM

So it's Sunday afternoon, and there's not a lot going on. Under other circumstances, we would be in front of the TV, watching the Colts bury the Broncos in the RCA Dome, but that was not meant to be. Instead, VH1 is on, and I've got Chicken Masala and Basmati rice on the stove for a late lunch. Our plans for the day are to go see Harry Potter on the IMAX screen, and then head out to a reception for my last f/t job. (Interesting side note...the witch I used to work for is no longer with the company. Yay, team!)

This week marked the end of an era...I quit the p/t job. It just hasn't been fun for me, and I really don't NEED the extra income anymore, so I decided to just let it go and maintain my peace of mind. I might miss it at some point, but not too much. The free time I'll pick up is not worth giving up for the money I was making.

What a life...I'm sitting here, drinking a Warsteiner beer that Matt put in my stocking, and relaxing. I could get used to this. Unfortunately, work reality kicks back in tomorrow. It's review time, so I've been doing my self-evaluation while I'm preparing to help do evaluations for the people working for me. There's plenty of projects, and I need to figure out a running order so we don't get steam-rolled by them. But that's tomorrow.

I didn't get to log this entry before we left, so I'll add a little postscript on. Harry Potter was great...probably my favorite one of the four so far. As for the reception, it was amazing. They spent a LOT of money on it, but it really showed. I'm proud to be able to say, "I used to work there". I flirted with the idea of asking the HR director to keep me in mind should any new positions come open, but sometimes you just can't go back. Tonight was one of those times.

What I'm Listening To: Grey's Anatomy

First Word That Comes To Mind: back

What I'm Currently Reading: Tori Amos - Piece By Piece


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland