Music For Thought

06/29/2005 - 9:59 PM

For those of you who've read the journal for a while, you know how much significance music has had in my life (most of my entry titles utilize some type of lyrical inspiration). Recently, I've felt like I've lost a bit of my grip on pop culture and, more importantly, musical knowledge. I guess it's inevitable as you get older...your priorities shift, and trivial knowledge isn't as pressing. But I think my musical inspiration goes deeper than just knowing that Dexy's Midnight Runners only had one hit, and that it went to #1. There's been some pretty deep connections with lyrics and melodies, and music has helped to get me through some of the hardest times in my life. There's the time that a guy I was seeing my senior year of college used "I Can't Make You Love Me" by Bonnie Raitt to drive home the fact that he was breaking up with me. The drive out of Atlanta to Denver with Rascal Flatts' "I'm Moving On" drowning out the rain hitting the windshield. And who could forget the night in Greensboro, hearing the remix of Toni Braxton's "Unbreak My Heart" as Dave danced with his new beau in the middle of the dancefloor. That stuff sticks with you.

One thing I have missed is making playlists. I made some amazing tapes in the early 90s. I had the recording process down to a science, knowing exactly where to start the tape, how much lead I needed to give a track, and where the precise moment was to stop and grab the next song to add. There was stuff on those tapes by Julian Lennon, Kate Bush, Toni Childs, Prince, the Rembrandts, Simply Red...really melancholy stuff that set a mood. Most of that music I don't even think I have in my collection anymore, but the songs come back to me from time to time. Fortunately, iTunes seems to be re-sparking that urge, and the playlists are starting to be created. Here's my latest one...Driving with the Top Down:

One Word - Kelly Osbourne
Left Outside Alone - Anastacia
Babylon - David Gray
A Real Fine Place To Start - Sara Evans
These Words - Natasha Bedingfield
That's What Love Can Do - Boy Krazy
Restless - Alison Krauss & Union Station
Baby Girl - Sugarland
Closer To Fine - Indigo Girls
You Dance - eastmountainsouth
Speed Of Sound - Coldplay
I Believe In You - Kylie Minogue
Behind These Hazel Eyes - Kelly Clarkson
Dream Big - Ryan Shupe
Laura - Scissor Sisters
Days Go By (Jeremy Wheatley Mix) - Keith Urban
(I've Got To) Stop Thinkin' 'Bout That - James Taylor
Lead Me On - Amy Grant

There you go...and here I go...

What I'm Listening To: Natasha Bedingfield - These Words

First Word That Comes To Mind: music

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland