Maybe Mo� Money, Definitely Mo� Problems

12/20/2005 - 3:28 PM

Alright�where do I start? It�s been a pretty crazy two weeks, and it�s not necessarily slowing down. You know how that goes�the best laid plans of mice and men. Anyway, Matt got his trip to Indiana out of the way last weekend, which left me solo to work the Christmas party circuit. Okay�it was actually only two parties, and they were pretty tame, but it took up some of the downtime I would have had otherwise. Add to that Christmas shopping and catching up with a few friends, and you�ve got yourself a busy weekend.

So here�s the baseline reading for where I�m at right now. The promotion finally has kicked in, but due to a technicality in my job grade, it�s really not a promotion. My boss and my boss�s boss are working on getting me a raise to compensate me for the additional responsibilities, but that�s not guaranteed, although they�re realistically optimistic. We�re probably looking at something in the neighborhood of a 5 to 10% increase. That definitely won�t hurt.

Things with Matt are going well, at least when we�re in the same time zone. There�s been too much traveling recently on both our parts, but I won�t complain. We leave for Syracuse on Friday, but unlike the last three trips we�ve been on, we�re traveling together. That�ll be a relief to me. I�ve become attached to traveling with Matt. Don�t ask me why�it�s just comforting to me. Besides, he�s got the laptop with the DVD player, so that doesn�t hurt, either.

There is no denying that I�m glad his semester is finally over. I don�t blame the classes for some tension between us over the past few weeks, but it sure hasn�t helped. We are still learning how each other react under certain circumstances, and although we get through them alright, it can get a little ugly before it gets better. I think I can sum up the differences pretty quickly�I always want equity, and Matt doesn�t like to compromise what he believes. Neither is a tragic flaw, but put them together, and it�s like tinfoil in a microwave (or so I�ve been told). It IS manageable�we�ve both gotten good at getting everything out on the table, and then sorting through it. I could be wrong, but the sorting seems to be getting less and less painful, which is probably a sign of growth on both of our parts.

So tonight is going to be working around the house, tomorrow night is working the p/t job, and Thursday night is HOCKEY NIGHT! It will be a good time, but we�re flying out the following morning, and that alarm clock is going to ring TOOOOO soon. As long as we�re up at six (and packed the night before), we should be okay.

Alright�time to wrap this up. I�ve got a few more things to handle here at work before I go home. This day can�t end soon enough. Before I leave, though, here�s the song that�s been stuck in my head for the last week or so. Pretty timely message, if you ask me�

With much respect and admiration to Stevie Wonder�

Someday at Christmas men won't be boys
Playing with bombs like kids play with toys
One warm December our hearts will see
A world where men are free

Someday at Christmas there'll be no wars
When we have learned what Christmas is for
When we have found what life's really worth
There'll be peace on earth

Someday all our dreams will come to be
Someday in a world where men are free
Maybe not in time for you and me
But someday at Christmastime

Someday at Christmas we'll see a Man
No hungry children, no empty hand
One happy morning people will share
Our world where people care

Someday at Christmas there'll be no tears
All men are equal and no men have fears
One shinning moment my heart ran away
From our world today

Someday all our dreams will come to be
Someday in a world where men are free
Maybe not in time for you and me
But someday at Christmastime

Someday at Christmas man will not fail
Take hope because your love will prevail
Someday a new world that we can start
With hope in every heart

Someday all our dreams will come to be
Someday in a world where men are free
Maybe not in time for you and me
But someday at Christmastime
Someday at Christmastime

What I'm Listening To: Stevie Wonder - Someday At Christmas

First Word That Comes To Mind: overload

What I'm Currently Reading: this week's Entertainment Weekly


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland