A Minute Short

05/29/2006 - 7:31 PM

Well, the 10K has come and gone, and it's feeling kind of anti-climatic at the moment. To make a long story short, I jogged the majority of the race, but I think I came up a minute shy of what my goal was. The great new sports watch I got from Ted and Dale for my birthday would have given me an answer, but coming into the stadium and sprinting for the finish kind of made me forget to stop my watch as I crossed the finish line. Oops. My right knee is kind of sore, and my legs have that "we're alright now, but after you sleep for eight hours without moving us, we're gonna make you PAY" feeling, but all in all, I feel good. According to my calculations, I finished the race in an hour and one minute. That's over 13 minutes off of my time two years ago, so it's a definite improvement.

Malcolm and Doug raced with us, which was great. Doug actually kept up with me for the first 3 kilometers, and then I had to get going in order to stay on pace. Between our starting wave (which was a walk/jog wave), and all of the walkers that I had to wade through, everyone is convinced that I would have hit it under better conditions. I know they're right, and I also know I wouldn't have even come CLOSE to do this a year ago, but the competitive side of me can't help but say "what if".

It should be a quick week for the most part. I won't train with Dre until Thursday because of the race, so the next two days will be pretty laid back. Wednesday night will be date night at the Keg, and then Friday I head out to Atlanta for what was going to be a three-day weekend, but now will be a two-day vacation attached to a day of meetings for work. I didn't have much planned for Monday anyway, so it works out well, and I will get some of my expenses paid for at the same time. I'm really excited to see my friends there. If it wasn't for the city and the weather, I'd move back in a heartbeat. However, the city and the weather are the main reasons I left in the first place, so don't hold your breath on a return move any time soon.

What I'm Listening To: The Soundscapes Music Choice channel in the background

First Word That Comes To Mind: sore

What I'm Currently Reading: The new Country Weekly magazine


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland