A Healthy Mind and a Strong Body

08/04/2004 - 8:37 PM

You know that old clich�d phrase "a strong mind and a healthy body"? That seems backwards to me. Don't ask me why that came to mind, except I was thinking about where I'm at in my life right now, and the right thoughts clicked at the same time. So that's my mantra now..."a strong body and a healthy mind". Next thing you know, I've got a book deal, and I'm traveling the motivational speaker circuit. The world is my oyster, and I just continue to help more and more people.

And then I wake up.

So where is my life right now? Well, occupationally, it's not so good. That can definitely change in the next 60 days, but for the moment, I'm not all that crazy about it. To let you know just how bad it is, the area of the country that I handle for work is the NYC metro area. The current terror alert (code Ernie in NYC, for those of you keeping track down below) makes doing my job effectively a nightmare of epic proportions. Well, not EPIC, but it's much more difficult. Moving our "product" around the city is taking at least twice as long now, and for those of you who have driven in NYC, the city doesn't move that fast on the streets to begin with. Long story short, I left work yesterday with a brain that was mush, and a body that was numb. The stress had done me in, and not even a Rockies game last night could completely shake me from my pain.

So long story short, my brain isn't in the right place, and my body isn't in the right shape. I already know this. For some reason, I haven't found the spark to actually do something about it that I did two years ago. Matt loves me for who I am, and his body is in a similar state at the moment, so there's a kind of comfort zone there that neither of us have shaken up yet. He's been running on and off, but not anything to substantial as of yet. We won't even talk about how much physical activity I HAVEN'T been doing, but it's pitiful.

Anyone got a spare spark that I can borrow?

Oh wait...I forgot. "A healthy mind and a strong body...a healthy mind and a strong body".

It's worth a try...

What I'm Listening To: Fantasia - I Believe

First Word That Comes To Mind: mantra

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland