May Blow Up, Go Boom

05/09/2006 - 6:47 AM

It's a quiet morning here at the moment, but it will probably blow up in about 20 minutes, once everyone starts getting into the office. Work has actually been good lately, and I enjoy the added responsibilities of the position, but it's definitely hectic. The two ladies that work for me have been great, though. They're even planning on taking me out for my birthday on Monday, which they don't have to do, but it's definitely appreciated. I need to come up with some place to go that's not too expensive, because I don't want to take advantage of their generosity.

Birthdays are odd for me, mainly because I didn't have much of a birthday party history as a kid. We never had parties with other kids...partially because I didn't have many friends growing up, and partially because my birthday fell in line with Mother's Day and both of my grandmothers' birthdays. I was always with family members, which was fine by me, but it deflected part of the special nature of birthdays that other people seem to have. My situation growing up really didn't allow for me to be as social with other kids as most people are used to.

Now, birthdays seem like a hassle to me, and I'm embarassed by the individual attention. That's bizarre to me, because I'm not a shy person. Maybe it's a residual "I'm not worthy" attitude that's still manifesting itself. Then again, I've seen a lot of these birthday gatherings that just get weird or cumbersome, and I don't feel so bad about it. I'm just the type of person that would rather spend time one-on-one with folks, rather than wade through a crowd of people.

The next few weeks are kicking back into busy mode, starting with the arrival of a friend from back in Syracuse on Friday night. He's going to stay with us for two days before heading to his conference, and while that's going on, our friend Cam is heading out to Seattle for good. We're going to make sure she gets to the airport on Sunday, and then a few hours later, Matt heads out to Utah for a week to take a class, where I'll join him the following Friday for a weekend. While he's gone, my uncle will also be in town for a conference, so I'll get to see him one night, as well. And then Memorial Day will be the Bolder Boulder 10K race, which will pretty much eat up the entire day. And that's May in a nutshell.

Okay...folks are starting to show up here. I need to prepare for everything to blow up. Optimistic, ain't I?

What I'm Listening To: Nothing at the moment

First Word That Comes To Mind: explosion

What I'm Currently Reading: The new Entertainment Weekly


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland