Love's Threshing Door

08/15/2006 - 11:05 AM

Sappy alert�sappy alert�

Matt and I have been together for about 3.5 years now, and things are better than ever. We definitely have our distinct likes, dislikes, quirks, hang-ups, etc, but somehow, through all of that, we are as compatible as any couple I�ve ever seen. It boggles my mind just how in sync we are, and that our differences compliment each other, rather than clash. It�s rare that we have nothing to say to each other, and yet, in those quiet moments, there�s still a connection.

One of my favorite things these days is to sit on the bed while Matt is working on schoolwork or surfing the �net, while I�m reading or doing a Sudoku puzzle. We�re both very warm-blooded, so it�s not a good idea to be right on top of each other, but we still end up snuggled up together. I know there will be times where we may not have the luxury of doing that, so I appreciate it even more when it does happen.

My uncle and his partner sent us a copy of the movie �The Women� on DVD for our anniversary, along with a copy of the program from our commitment ceremony. Neither of us was familiar with the movie, but we sat down Sunday night to watch it and see what the connection might be. Almost two and a half hours into the movie, I started to get a little antsy, but then the connection was made. The main character (Mary) is sitting in bed, reading �a book about love�. The lines Mary reads, which are from "The Prophet" by Kahlil Gibran:

"Then it is better for you that you cover your nakedness and pass out of love's threshing floor, into the seasonless world where you shall laugh, but not all of your laughter, and weep, but not all of your tears."

MGM omitted the reference to "nakedness" to avoid offending the censors, but the impact is the same. Mary decides to fight for the man she allowed to be �stolen� away from her, and everyone gets what they deserve in the end. My reward, however, was hearing this line again, which I haven�t heard since the ceremony last year. Much of that day was a blur to me, so it�s nice to find these little reminders every now and again.

Can you tell that there�s really not a lot to report right now? Sorry for the less than exciting updates. If I�m lucky, things will continue to be low-key for another week or so. Then the busy season kicks back in. Lucky me�

What I'm Listening To: Nothing at the moment

First Word That Comes To Mind: Love

What I'm Currently Reading: Alison Bechdel - Fun Home


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland