Looking Back...

08/10/2005 - 7:56 AM

So I know I still haven't gotten around to the recap of the ceremony, and I really want to do that. The two days prior, plus a few days after, were jam-packed with stories, and I'd like to keep them all for posterity. After looking back, it seems like I didn't do a really bad job, but the three days of the ceremony and festivities leave a lot to be desired. So I'll pick up on the afternoon of Friday the 22nd.

Lunch with the folks went very well. There were five of us, including my uncle and his partner. We went to Ted's Montana Grill, mainly because I knew my stepdad would love the place, and it was a hit all around. After sending them off to the hotel, it was back to the airport to get the brother, whose flight got in a little early. One stop at the liquor store later, we were at the hotel, but the parents and uncles were nowhere to be found. That's because they missed the exit, probably due to talking too much. So once they got back, I made my escape to the condo to change for dinner, and then headed back into town.

Dinner was AMAZING. We went to a German restaurant that I love, and it was a big hit. The co-owner of the place, who we see every time we go, was taking very good care of us, with roses and uncooked rice on the table (I'm guessing that's some kind of tradition I've never heard of). The meal was exquisite, with everyone getting more than enough cheese, brats, beef, beer, and anything else you can think of that's German. And to top it off, she gave us an amazing chocolate cake that had fresh strawberries and whipped cream on top. Talk about wonderful...I couldn't get enough of that, but I did stop.

From there, we headed to the hotel for the reception, which had just started prior to our arrival. We probably had about 35 people through the course of the evening, and it was an absolute blast. People from all over the country getting to know each other, saying, "oh...YOU'RE the one", and having a great time. Surprisingly, I got out of there in a decent amount of time, and pretty much got a good night's sleep.

To be continued...

What I'm Listening To: Seasons of Love - cast of Rent

First Word That Comes To Mind: recap

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland