I Know That I Don't Know

10/31/2006 - 2:36 PM

Remember that whole "I'm not going to sweat this job thing...I'll let it fall where it will" thinking? Well, it appears I wasn't as ready for that level as I thought I was. The old phrase �I know that I don�t know� has been the theme of this week so far. So here�s where we stand�my job, as I know it, will actually be upgraded as part of this reorganization. However, I probably won�t be able to take advantage of this, since the Denver office is moving south of here, adding at least another 45 minutes r/t on my commute time. The options of staying with my current job are getting worse, not better. And yet, I may bite the bullet and take that job to carry me through until August. Who knows...

I�ve become a bit of a humbug on Halloween in my old age. After a couple of years where we dressed up, Matt and I mutually decided to pass on costumes this year. In five years of living in my condo, I�ve never been home to worry about the candy thing, either. Tonight, I have a call with my coach, as I mentioned last time, so that will take up part of my night, and then I think I�ll just be a hermit and read by candlelight, or something like that. At least the HOA was thinking this year, and provided signs for people who will be offering candy. Knowing my neighbors, not a lot of them will have signs up.

Today was my pre-work for my yearly physical. This consisted of going in, having all of my weights and measurements recorded, some questions about my health, and then taking about a pint of blood. Well, it felt like a pint, anyway. I get to go back next Wednesday to finish off the exam, and then I�ve got a dentist�s appointment later on in the month. This is my attempt to ensure that I�ve got all of my examinations out of the way before I run out of insurance (in case that happens).

Matt asked at his job about domestic partner benefits, and his employer said that they haven�t �gotten that far yet�. What�s up with that? This is BOULDER, people. There are companies that offer benefits for pets now, and you don�t match up on DP benefits? The killer here is that their parent company does offer them, but because they are a wholly-owned subsidiary, not all of the benefits match up. And people wonder why the whole gay marriage is so important to �the gays�? Here�s a perfect example.

I thought about coming into work as Peyton Manning from the Dish Network commercials (black mustache and all), just to rub it in to my co-workers who root for the Broncos, but I am currently without a jersey, having given my XL jersey to Matt�s dad. It was more like a tent on me by the time I was done losing weight, so I�m currently contemplating a new one. The bad thing is that when I found a website that had a good price, they also had another jersey that was too cool, and I may end up buying both (free shipping to boot!).

Okay�time to stop the madness. Back to work for me�

What I'm Listening To: Aretha Franklin - Who's Zoomin' Who

First Word That Comes To Mind: busy

What I'm Currently Reading: The newest Entertainment Weekly


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland