Just Pick One

08/06/2005 - 10:06 AM

Flirting with a work fantasy right now...quitting. I find myself in a position of extreme power right now, and I can easily bargain for more money, but it may backfire on me, too. On top of that, I like the people that I work for, and there would probably be irrepairable damage done to our working relationship if I made this move. But if there's one thing I've learned over the past 20 years of working, it's that no one's looking out for me except for me. There's a reason you get updates at 6 am and on Saturdays when I'm at work, and I don't feel like I'm being properly compensated for this. Granted, no one's forcing me to come in early and on Saturdays, but I would just drown if I didn't do this. So have I created my own catch-22, or is it inherent to the job? I don't know.

I also need to figure out how much to ask for. I've been thinking an either/or...more money, or at least an extra week's vacation. But after fighting over $500 a few months ago, I truly doubt they'll come through. So that's my hang up. Matt would say he'll support me in whatever I decide, but that's too much of a burden to put on him, especially with all the debt we've rung up for the ceremony. So here I am, once again at the crossroads.

Just pick one...

What I'm Listening To: Pussycat Dolls - Don't Cha

First Word That Comes To Mind: crossroads

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland