On the Carpet

08/29/2003 - 8:04 PM

Well, the shit hit the fan today. I ended up on a conference call with my boss and my boss's boss about their concerns with my job performance, and I can't say that I blame them much at all. The main concerns were my follow-through on projects, as well as my attention to detail, which there have only been scattered amounts. The "brain in a Cuisinart" analogy would not be an inappropriate analogy for describing the way I've felt at times with this job, and it's just baffling to me. Much as I would have said I was capable of multi-tasking, it's becoming quite obvious to me that I'm not as good as I'd like to be. So with that, I now need to decide where I'm going with my career.

Boss's boss was on my end of the call, and my boss was on the other end of the phone, which I thought was kind of lousy, but I'm sure something that was overlooked (I'm not sure what) triggered the need for the call. What a way to start a four-day weekend..."why don't you take the weekend and evaluate how you feel about the position". Ugh. Thanks for leaving things on a positive note. They assured me that they were not even close to throwing in the towel, but I gathered it was put out there to give me a convenient out, should I desire it.

This should tell you how my attention span is lately. I walk into the kitchen to get a glass of water, and come across a magazine that I've had for almost a month, but haven't had a chance to read. So I bring it into the bedroom with me, and read it while the screen is staring right at me, waiting for me to finish the entry�except I don't know what to type. I had the same problem with the scattered and jumbled concentration with the last position in the company as well, and I thought this job would be a good way to break out of that and get some excitement going on. All this move did, though, was pile more tasks onto my plate that weren't as easy to juggle as were the last job's duties. So maybe I DO need to find a new job, or at least figure out why I have the attention span of a 6-year-old at a video arcade for the first time.

But that would require figuring out what I'm going to do when I grow up, and we wouldn't want to ruin the track record I've spent so long building up, now would we?

What I'm Listening To: Matchbox Twenty - Unwell

First Word That Comes To Mind: Tired

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland