It's Been 10 Days...

03/10/2006 - 1:30 PM

Wow...I really didn�t think it had been 10 days since I�d updated, but time flies when you�re staying busy. The last week and a half has really found me keeping occupied with both work and personal stuff, and it won�t probably slow down until the middle of next week. Matt�s going to be heading to Indiana and Illinois for school and family, and I�ll probably keep a low profile during that time. On day 10 of his trip, I�ll fly out to Indy to celebrate our 3-year anniversary, and we�ll come back to Denver together three days later.

So what�s been going on? Well, as promised, the RockyMtRangr Body Transformation has begun. I have been working with a trainer for almost three weeks now, and he has me lifting weights twice a week, running three times a week, and I am currently on the South Beach Diet. As of this morning, I have lost eight pounds some people say things like �it�s all water weight initially�, but I know it�s not. It�s the real thing. And it�s because I�m consciously doing the right thing, for once. I�m watching portions, I�m eating slower and only to the point where I�m starting to be full, and most of the sugars are gone. I�d like to say the only problem I�ve had over the past two years is that I wasn�t working out, but man! Could I shovel the food in any faster at times? I doubt it.

Work has been a confusing blur over the past few weeks, as well. My duties appear to be on the verge of blowing wide open, which will get me more money, but also more reports and more responsibilities. I love my boss�that makes it all worthwhile, knowing that my efforts are recognized and appreciated. But the money will DEFINITELY help. You�ve heard my issues before�you don�t need to hear that again.

Matt�s search for a doctorate program continues to roll on. He�s actually been ranking schools in terms of how much interest he has, and there are at least 12 schools on the list right now. Fortunately, Texas and Utah are at the bottom of the list. I don�t have any problems with these states personally, but it will be much easier to exist as an out couple in some of the Eastern and Midwest states than in the Bible belt (or Mormon country). As part of his trip to Indiana, he�s going to be visiting two programs that are near the top of his list. After that, he�ll head up to Chicago for a conference where he�s hoping to meet faculty from other programs in consideration, and based on all of this, he should be able to start formulating a list of schools to actually apply to. (And Syracuse appears to be out of the picture�it would be nice if they�d return an e-mail or something, but it�s their loss if they don�t want to bother with him.)

Okay�I need to wrap things up at work here, and then it�s off to the gym to work with Dre. We�re having dinner tonight with Malcolm and Cam at The Keg downtown, and then tomorrow will be at least partially spent cleaning up the Juando for the arrival of a friend of Matt�s for two days. And then, I�ll sleep�

What I'm Listening To: Howard Jones - Everlasting Love

First Word That Comes To Mind: sleep

What I'm Currently Reading: Jen Trynin - Everything I'm Cracked Up To Be


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland