In My Place, In My Place

05/11/2004 - 8:20 PM

A lesson in climate and geography for those who are not familiar with the Denver metro area of Colorado:

-We are not in the mountains. Although they are well in sight, and even though we are known as the "Mile High City", we are still on the plains, and the lay of the land looks like it where society hasn't meddled with it.

-Snow is more the exception than the rule here. On average, we get about 30 inches of snow a year, and most of the time, that snow is gone within a day or two.

-The first year I was here, the snow season started the last day of September, and ended the first week of May. Last year, our last snow was in the first week of June.

-High humidity occurs here about as much as snow does.

-This is the one time of the year where you can say Denver is green, and this spring is even more green than usual, thanks to a later-than-usual spell of rain and snow. I am falling in love with Denver all over again, and it's perfect timing. It was four years ago this week that I first arrived here on vacation, and I knew I was home, even if I waited over a year to make that move.

Matt is still in Ft Lauderdale, and he's coming home tomorrow night. I flew back in about 11:30 last night, and I didn't even get five hours of sleep. The vacation was great...nothing planned, and nothing achieved other than hanging out, eating some good food, enjoying the company of Matt's friends Chris and Danny, catching up with my friend Marcus (who I knew from Atlanta), and doing a little shopping, to boot. Just what the doctor ordered.

A new job is potentially on the horizon, and I think it looks promising. It's a recruiting job that utilizes all of my skill sets: finance, marketing/sales, and communications. We'll see how it shakes out, but it would be nice to get back to a M-F job in time for the summer. My only hesitation is that it would be salary plus commission, and we haven't talked numbers yet, but I like the sound of it so far.

Birthday is three days away, and the dinner is coming together. At last count, it looked like 11 people, but you know how fickle gay men can be. Either way, I'm glad to have folks in my life that actually care about getting together with me. One more positive influence Matt has on me.

Someday, I'll actually force myself to write about my life in the beautiful detail that Floodtide regularly shares with us. Until then, let the disjointed rambling continue...

What I'm Listening To: A mix of Sarah McLachlan, Coldplay, Five For Fighting and Toad

First Word That Comes To Mind: capsule

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland