And I Am Funky

09/04/2004 - 9:27 PM

Might I suggest a write-in campaign for Non-Descript's new political party, with the not quite fearless (but getting closer) author as its presidential candidate? I already feel like my vote is useless, so why not go with my conscience for a man who gives a shit about the good of the masses, rather than the good of a select few donors.

Did I tell you all that I went to see Prince last weekend? The show was off the hook, no doubt! No opening act necessary...it was just Prince, and he was funky. Besides the fact that I got to hear "Adore" live, confirming that I may now die with a complete life behind me, the rest of the show was a tour-de-force of a man with a brilliant career behind him, but who is far from past his prime. You've already heard me rave about the Musicology CD, and I can only believe that there's more of that sitting in the vaults of Paisley Park. (does that facility actually still exist? I remember something about bankruptcy, but I'm not sure) The Kid even busted out the Beverly Hillbillies theme on the guitar, and the crowd went nuts. You know people will say "that guy could have played the phone book, and I would have loved it"? I will never find a better example of that phrase in my life than Prince.

The last couple of days have been a blur for me. Besides work, which has been much more bearable the past week, I've been out to eat a few times with friends. We went to this amazing country Japanese restaurant with a couple of Matt's co-workers this afternoon for lunch. I guess this place is Zagat's fifth best Japanese restaurant in the US, and the decor is rated #1. I wholeheartedly agree with the assessment. The food was delicious, the atmosphere was top-notch, and the service was outstanding. Best of all, since it was lunch time, the prices were reasonable. I'm thinking about making this a weekly lunch on Saturdays...that's how great it was.

Okay...I need to get to sleep in a bit here. Fighting off an end-of-summer cold, and I don't have much more energy to think about what to type next. First, a hot bath, and then bed. Ah....heaven.

What I'm Listening To: Prince - My Name Is Prince

First Word That Comes To Mind: funky

What I'm Currently Reading:


Terror Alert Level

profile
last
next
archives
cast
random
newest
email
notes
design
diaryland